book cover of The Family Next Door
Added by 3 of our members

The Family Next Door

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
America's next favorite Australian author!

"With jaw-dropping discoveries and realistic consequences, this novel is not to be missed. Perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies." - Library Journal, starred review

Small, perfect towns often hold the deepest secrets.

From the outside, Essie's life looks idyllic: a loving husband, a beautiful house in a good neighborhood, and a nearby mother who dotes on her grandchildren. But few of Essie's friends know her secret shame: that in a moment of maternal despair, she once walked away from her newborn, asleep in her carriage in a park. Disaster was avoided and Essie got better, but she still fears what lurks inside her, even as her daughter gets older and she has a second baby.

When a new woman named Isabelle moves in next door to Essie, she is an immediate object of curiosity in the neighborhood. Why single, when everyone else is married with children? Why renting, when everyone else owns? What mysterious job does she have? And why is she so fascinated with Essie? As the two women grow closer and Essie's friends voice their disapproval, it starts to become clear that Isabelle's choice of neighborhood was no accident. And that her presence threatens to bring shocking secrets to light.

The Family Next Door is Sally Hepworth at her very best: at once a deeply moving portrait of family drama and a compelling suburban mystery that will keep you hooked until the very last page.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Women's fiction at its finest." - Liane Moriarty


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sally Hepworth's The Family Next Door

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-4328-4582-9 / 978-1-4328-4582-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-250-12089-6 / 978-1-250-12089-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-250-21763-6 / 978-1-250-21763-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-250-12090-X / 978-1-250-12090-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-76078-111-8 / 978-1-76078-111-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Pan Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: The gripping domestic page-turner perfect for fans of Big Little Lies
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-4736-7423-9 / 978-1-4736-7423-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): SALLY HEPWORTH (author)
ISBN: 1-250-18513-0 / 978-1-250-18513-6 (USA edition)
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-76055-217-8 / 978-1-76055-217-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-4272-9311-2 / 978-1-4272-9311-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
ISBN: 1-4894-3233-7 / 978-1-4894-3233-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda/Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: The gripping domestic page-turner perfect for fans of Big Little Lies
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door: A Novel
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


February 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Family Next Door
Author(s): Sally Hepworth
Publisher: Macmillan Australia
Availability: Amazon AU