book cover of Silence of the Grave
Added by 154 members

Silence of the Grave

(The second book in the Inspector Erlendur series)
A novel by

2006 Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel (nominee)
2005 CWA Gold Dagger

Building work in an expanding Reykjavik uncovers a shallow grave. Years before, this part of the city was all open hills, and Erlendur and his team hope this is a typical Icelandic missing person scenario; perhaps someone once lost in the snow, who has lain peacefully buried for decades. Things are never that simple. Whilst Erlendur struggles to hold together the crumbling fragments of his own family, his case unearths many other tales of family pain. The hills have more than one tragic story to tell: tales of failed relationships and heartbreak; of anger, domestic violence and fear; of family loyalty and family shame. Few people are still alive who can tell the story, but even secrets taken to the grave cannot remain hidden forever.

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Arnaldur Indridason's Silence of the Grave

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors