New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Craig Johnson's picture

Craig Johnson

(Craig Allen Johnson)
USA flag (1961 - )

Craig Johnson is the New York Times bestselling author of twelve Walt Longmire mystery novels, which are the basis for Longmire, the hit Netflix original drama. The Cold Dish won Le Prix du Polar Nouvel Observateur/Bibliobs. Death Without Company, the Wyoming Historical Associations Book of the Year, won Frances Le Prix 813, and Another Mans Moccasins was the Western Writers of Americas Spur Award Winner and the Mountains & Plains Book of the Year. The Dark Horse, the fifth in the series, was a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year and Junkyard Dogs won The Watson Award for a mystery novel with the best sidekick. Hell Is Empty, selected by Library Journal as the Best Mystery of the Year, was a New York Times best seller, as was As the Crow Flies, which won the Rocky for the best crime novel typifying the western United States. A Serpents Tooth opened as a New York Times bestseller as did Any Other Name and Wait for Signs, Johnson's collection of short stories. Spirit of Steamboat was selected by the State Library as the inaugural One Book Wyoming and included visits to sixty-three libraries. Johnson lives in Ucross, Wyoming, population twenty-five.
Dilys Awards Best Book nominee (2006) : The Cold Dish
Dilys Awards Best Book nominee (2010) : The Dark Horse

Craig Johnson recommends
Mundy's Law (2009)
(Legend of Joe Mundy, book 1)
Monty McCord
"Wild, wooly and well worth the read."
Death Where the Bad Rocks Live (2012)
(Spirit Road Mystery, book 2)
C M Wendelboe
"Wendelboe has introduced a powerful new character to Western crime fiction."
A Player to be Maimed Later (2013)
(Lloyd Keaton Mystery, book 2)
John Billheimer
"...the most exciting play in crime fiction."
Shotgun Moon (2013)
K C McRae
"Shotgun Moon is easy on the ear and the eye—definitely an author and a character to watch out for."
Glorious (2014)
(Cash McLendon, book 1)
Jeff Guinn
"If, like me, you’ve been waiting for the next Louis L’Amour or Zane Grey, the good news is his name is Jeff Guinn."
Pine Marten (2015)
Wallace J Swenson
"This is as finely written a western as is out there."
White Leopard (2015)
Laurent Guillaume
"Get ready for a thrill ride of epic proportions-The real deal!."
The Far Empty (2016)
J Todd Scott
"So good I wish I’d written it. The poetic and bloody ground of west Texas has given birth to a powerful new voice in contemporary western crime fiction."
Knottspeed (2017)
Jeff Johnson
"The bastard lovechild of Charles Bukowski and Raymond Chandler, Lucky Supreme is a novel so good you'll want to ink it into your skin."
Fateful Mornings (2017)
(Henry Farrell, book 2)
Tom Bouman
"You would be hard-pressed to find a finer new series than Tom Bouman’s Henry Farrell novels because of the complexity of the plots or the richness of the characters, but what it really comes down to is just damn good writing."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors