David Housewright's picture
Followed by 12 of our members

David Housewright


USA flag (b.1955)

A reformed newspaper reporter and ad man, Housewright's book "Penance" (Foul Play Press) earned the 1996 Edgar Award for Best First Novel from the Mystery Writers of America and was nominated for a Shamus in the same category by the Private Eye Writers of America. "Practice to Deceive" won the 1998 Minnesota Book Award (it is currently being developed as a feature film) and "Jelly's Gold" won the same prize in 2010. His 11th novel -- "Highway 61" -- will be published in June 2011 (St. Martin's Press Minotaur). Housewright's short stories have appeared in several anthologies including "Silence of the Loons," "Twin Cities Noir," "Resort to Murder," and "Once Upon A Crime" and publications as diverse as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and True Romance.

Genres: Mystery
 
Novels
thumbthumb
 
Collections
thumb
 
David Housewright recommends
thumb
Flamingo Road (2017)
(Fia McKee, book 1)
Sasscer Hill
"Fans of Kinsey Millhone and V. I. Warshawski, there’s a new sheriff in town. Her name’s Fia McKee and she’s as smart, tough, impetuous, cynical, caring, infuriating, likeable, sassy, sexy, temperamental, and courageous as those illustrious predecessors."
thumb
Bad Samaritan (2018)
(Nick Forte Mystery)
Dana King
"Tough, taut, unsentimental, and as hard-boiled as a dinosaur egg; Dana King delivers a private-eye procedural that would make Joe Gores proud."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors