book cover of Blood and Guts
Added by 16 of our members
 

Blood and Guts

(2021)
(The first book in the DS Vicky Dodds series)
A novel by

 
 

Christmas Eve. A dead teenager, another missing. One hell of a case.



Meet DS Vicky Dodds in this short novel.

Settling down for a nice Christmas Eve with her daughter and her best friend, a phone call pulls DS Vicky Dodds into work and to a deadly new case.

A teenage girl, her body cooling in a cold, dark supermarket car park. Found next to her friend’s car, but she’s missing too — has the killer taken her? Or is she the killer?

As the clock ticks down, Vicky digs deep as she investigates Dundee’s grim underbelly, and shows real blood and guts as she cuts through the lies of teenagers and a colleague’s furious rage in her pursuit of the truth.

BLOOD & GUTS is a short novel introducing the new explosive crime thriller series from bestselling author, Ed James, one of Scottish crime fiction’s grittiest writers. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, JD Kirk, James Oswald and Stuart MacBride.

Readers praise for BLOOD & GUTS:



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Raw, real, pacy, suspenseful, and laced with dark humour. I read it in one sitting. It deserved nothing less. Loved it." –
Goodreads review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Gritty, well-written, dark and believable stuff from Ed James. Kept me awake trying to solve the murder and attacks. Well worth reading!" –
Goodreads review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "James packed an adventure onto these pages, with his usual flair for plot twists and unique characters. The crimes are heartbreaking, the investigation filled with twists and turns." –
Amazon review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Fast paced and never a dull moment, the story draws you into the mystery/thriller from the very first chapter. The tension is gripping throughout, and the author has an amazing ability to bring the reader into the main character's head." –
Amazon review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Discovered this book by sheer chance and so glad I did. I loved the story, the characters and the descriptions of my home town. Took me right back there when reading the book. Great storyline, can't wait to read more" –
Goodreads review

Binge the whole series now:
  1. BLOOD & GUTS

    TOOTH & CLAW

    FLESH & BLOOD

    SKIN & BONE

    GUILT TRIP (coming soon)


Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ed James's Blood and Guts

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: A Scottish Detective Mystery
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Grey Dog Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Grey Dog Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Grey Dog Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Grey Dog Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Blood and Guts: A completely compelling mystery crime thriller full of twists (DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers Book 1)
Author(s): Ed James
Publisher: Grey Dog Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU