book cover of See How She Runs

See How She Runs

(The second book in the Cape Trouble series)
A novel by

The Cape Trouble series is an original romantic suspense novel from RITA-Award-winning author Janice Kay Johnson, the second installment in the Cape Trouble series. Known for delivering stories that combine strong, realistic characters, compelling mysteries and deeply emotional romances, Johnson once again delivers in SEE HOW SHE RUNS.

When it's never safe to stop running...

Cape Trouble, a tiny Oregon Coast town, was named for the dangerous off-shore reefs. But some of its citizens seek refuge from their own troubles... which have a way of following them.

One night, in her upscale California restaurant, Naomi Kendrick overheard powerful men plotting a political assassination. To save her life, she made a bargain with the devil... and then ran.

Inevitably, she is found. More than one enemy descends on Cape Trouble to learn her secrets... and silence Naomi once and for all.

Detective Adam Rostov suspects she stabbed his partner to death in her restaurant kitchen. Pursuing her to Cape Trouble, he arrives just in time to rescue her from an assault. He conceals his real purpose in Cape Trouble to stay close to her. Because if he can't keep her alive, he'll never find out if she's innocent or guilty.

Naomi's instincts scream, Run, but too late, because Adam isn't about to let her go. Not when he has begun to believe she is a victim and not a killer. Not when she is irresistible bait to draw a contract killer, a corrupt U.S. Congressman, and a crooked federal agent. And not when, despite all common sense, he's falling in love with the mysterious chef.

Once Naomi discovers Adam too has been hunting her, she must decide. Run and keep running, or trust him to keep her safe? Of course, once he knows her darkest secret, he may no longer want to protect her...

What people are saying about the romantic suspense novels of Janice Kay Johnson:

  • "If you are in the mood for a wonderful romantic suspense story that will have you so engrossed in it that you lose track of the time, than look no further."
    - NIGHT OWL REVIEWS (on Shroud of Fog)

  • "SHROUD OF FOG will immerses the reader in a world of suspense and intrigue. Janice Kay Johnson has penned a deeply satisfying story that is appealing to mystery lovers as well as romance aficionados. If you are looking for a tale that has plenty of plot twists and amazing characters that will remain with you, then you should rush out and get a copy of SHROUD OF FOG!
    - Romance Junkies (on Shroud of Fog)

  • "[G]uaranteed to have you looking over your shoulder more than once in this explosive, fast-paced thriller."
    - Linda Silverstein, ROMANTIC TIMES (on Dangerous Waters)

  • "Studded with tension and skillfully riveting, [it] will capture you from the first page and won't let go until the end."
    - Kay Gragg, AFFAIRE DE COEUR (on Dangerous Waters)

  • "I've never read Ms. Johnson's work before and all I can say is I will be finding everything else she's ever written. This story is so masterful it takes you inside this small town and really makes you think you are there."
    - Sara HJ, HARLEQUIN JUNKIES (on Everywhere She Goes)

    Although this is a stand-alone novel, the reading order for the Cape Trouble series is:
    Shroud of Fog (Book 1)
    See How She Runs (Book 2)
    Twisted Threads (Book 3)
    Whisper of Revenge (Book 4)
    Trigger Words (Book 5)

    Genre: Romantic Suspense

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Janice Kay Johnson's See How She Runs

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors