book cover of Black Trail

Black Trail

(The fourth book in the Crow series)
A novel by

The brainchild of Amazon Kindle Number One bestselling western writers Mike Stotter and Ben Bridges, PICCADILLY PUBLISHING is dedicated to reissuing new and classic fiction from Yesterday and Today!


The Apache began to turn, a smile of contempt on his face.

He died not even certain about what he'd seen. The last image imprinted on his sight was so blurred and so unbelievable that he doubted himself. There was the white man, holding something. A gun? Then there was a flash and a burst of smoke. He even heard the crash of the explosion.

Then he was dead.

The first barrel of the Purdey spat out its load of ten-gauge shot at less than twelve feet range. The lead ripping into the Apache's head and shoulders, flaying the skin from his face. Pulping both eyes in their sockets. Smashing the teeth in the gums through torn lips. Blasting him back off his feet to lie near the edge of the cliff, feet kicking and fingers scrabbling in the dust as the life poured away from him.


Laurence James was a member of the original 'Piccadilly Cowboys'. In 1972 he became a full-time freelance author and journalist and for many years thereafter published short science fiction stories in both Britain and the U.S. In 1974 he published his first novel, Earth Lies Sleeping which introduces galactic secret agent Simon Rack. The series is shortly to appear in electronic form under the PP imprint. At around the same time, Laurence published a fantasy saga of Hells Angels under the name 'Mick Norman'. The four books, Angels from Hell, Angel Challenge, Guardian Angels and Angels on my Mind, were later repackaged as The Angel Chronicles by Creation Books. Laurence went on to enjoy a highly prolific career, publishing dozens of novels under his own name as well as various pen names. Today Laurence is best-remembered for his post apocalyptic Deathlands series, for which he penned more than thirty novels under the name 'James Axler'. He was also a gifted western writer, and among his many western credits are such series as Crow, Apache, Herne the Hunter, Caleb Thorn and Gunslinger. His other series work included The Witches as 'James Darke', Wolfshead as by 'Arthur Frazier', The Vikings as 'Neil Langholm', Survival 2000 as 'James McPhee', the Confessions series as 'Jonathan May', The Killers as 'Klaus Netzen' and The Eagles as 'Andrew Quiller, plus two stand-alone novels as 'Richard Haigh'. His frequent collaborators included Terry Harknett, John Harvey, Angus Wells and Kenneth Bulmer.

Genre: Western

Similar books by other authors

White Death
(Herne the Hunter, book 1)
John J McLaglen
The Tucson Conspiracy
(Blade Westerns, book 2)
Matt Chisholm
Buchanan on the Run
Jonas Ward

Used availability for Laurence James's Black Trail

Paperback Editions

July 1980 : UK Paperback

Title: Black Trail
Author(s): James W Marvin
ISBN: 0-552-11461-8 / 978-0-552-11461-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

February 2013 : USA, UK Kindle edition

Title: Crow 4: The Black Trail (A Crow Western)
Author(s): James W Marvin
Publisher: Piccadilly Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK