New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

Laurence James

UK (1942 - 2000)

aka James Axler, L J Coburn, James Darke, Arthur Frazier, Charles C Garrett, Richard Haigh, William M James, Neil Langholm, John J McLaglen, James McPhee, James W Marvin, Jonathan May, Klaus Netzen, Mick Norman, Andrew Quiller

Laurence James was a British science fiction writer, especially known for his involvement with the "Deathlands" series. James originally worked in publishing other people's books.

In 1972 he embarked on the career of "a full-time freelance author and journalist". For several years thereafter he published short science fiction stories in both Britain and the US. In 1974 he published his first full-length novel, "Earth Lies Sleeping" - the first in a series focused on the exploits of a galactic secret agent named Simon Rack. At the time he was living with his wife and their three children at an east Herefordshire village.

Genres: Science Fiction, Western
Angel Chronicles (as by Mick Norman)
1. Angels from Hell (1973)
2. Angel Challenge (1973)
3. Guardian Angels (1974)
4. Angels on My Mind (1974)

Galactic Security Service
1. Earth Lies Sleeping (1974)
2. Starcross (1974)
     aka War on Aleph
3. Backflash (1975)
4. Planet of the Blind (1975)
5. New Life for Old (1975)
5. Home Run (1988) (with Matthew James)



1. First And Ten (1987) (with Matthew James)
2. Second and Five (1987) (with Matthew James)
3. Touchdown! (1987) (with Matthew James)
4. Third and Goal (1987) (with Matthew James)
6. Grand Slam (1988) (with Matthew James)
7. Running Back (1988) (with Matthew James)
8. End Zone (1989) (with Matthew James)
9. Outside Shot (1989) (with Matthew James)
10. Tunnel Vision (1989)
11. The Past's Present (1989)
Golden Astronauts (1980) (as by Richard Haigh)
The Road (1983)
The Farm (1984) (as by Richard Haigh)
Paradise Lost (1984)
The City (1986) (as by Richard Haigh)

Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Laurence James
Short stories
Mercy (1967)
And Dug the Dog a Tomb (1972)
The Square Root of MC (1973)
You Get Lots of Yesterdays, Lots of Tomorrows, and Only One Today (1975)

Search for