book cover of Venom Squadron

Venom Squadron

Yeoman in the Suez crisis
(The tenth book in the Yeoman series)
A novel by

The Second World War is long over, but George Yeoman is about to be flung into a new crisis.

The Suez Crisis.

Based in Cyprus and commanding two squadrons of de Havilland Venom fighter-bombers, Wing Commander George Yeoman is the first to be called into the clash between Anglo-French forces and the Egyptians over the Suez Canal.

Operation Musketeer, in which combined air-attack forces demolish the Egyptian airfields west of Suez, is soon over, but there is still action for the Venoms in an unexpected area.

The tiny, oil-rich state of Muramshir has asked for British support against invasion by its powerful neighbour, Khorat, and Yeoman's Venom squadron is despatched to show some air strength.

To their amazement they face not the usual outdated British war planes of the Gulf states but the latest Russian-built MiG fighters, with speed and range infinitely superior to the Venoms.

Yeoman's Middle East assignment turns into a battle to the death, and into it he has to lead young RAF pilots who have never before encountered such gruelling conditions combined with such grimly determined opponents.

Praise for Robert Jackson:

"The descriptions of weaponry... are authentically detailed." - Publishers Weekly

Robert Jackson (b. 1941) is a prolific author of military and aviation history, having become a full time writer in 1969. As an active serviceman in the Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve he flew a wide range of aircraft, ranging from jets to gliders. Venom Squadron is part of the George Yeoman series which began in Hurricane Squadron.

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for Robert Jackson's Venom Squadron

Hardback Editions

January 1984 : UK Hardback

Title: Venom Squadron
Author(s): Robert Jackson
ISBN: 0-213-16878-2 / 978-0-213-16878-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Littlehampton Book Services Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

August 2016 : Paperback

Title: Venom Squadron
Author(s): Robert Jackson
ISBN: 1-5368-6733-0 / 978-1-5368-6733-6
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

July 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Venom Squadron (Yeoman Series Book 11)
Author(s): Robert Jackson
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU