book cover of Shirley Jackson Collected Short Stories
Added by 3 members

Shirley Jackson Collected Short Stories

A collection of stories by

Great Authors introduces readers to six of the world's premier authors and how they use language to create literary works of art. Each book presents a collection of the author's best short stories, a biography, and insightful notes about the stories. About the Author: Shirley Jackson was born in San Francisco, California on December, 14, 1919. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Syracuse University in 1940. Much of her writing was done during the years she was raising her children. She is best-known for the short story The Lottery, which was first published in 1948 and adapted for television in 1952 and into play form in 1953. Her published works include articles, nonfiction prose, plays, poetry, seven novels, and fifty-five short stories. Her other works include Life among the Savages, Raising Demons, The Haunting of Hill House, which was adapted to film, and We Have Always Lived in the Castle. She died on August 8, 1965 at the age of 45.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Used availability for Shirley Jackson's Shirley Jackson Collected Short Stories

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors