book cover of Dear Henry, Love Edith
Added by 5 members
 

Dear Henry, Love Edith

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
He thinks she’s an elderly widow. She’s convinced he’s a grumpy old man. Neither could be further from the truth.

After a short and difficult marriage, recently widowed Edith Sherman has learned her lesson. Forget love. Forget marriage. She plans to fill her thirties with adventure. As she awaits the final paperwork for a humanitarian trip to South Africa, she accepts a short-term nursing position in a small Midwestern town. The last thing she needs is a handsome local catching her eye. How inconvenient is that?

Henry Hobbes isn’t exactly thrilled to have Edith, who he assumes is an elderly widow, dumped on him as a houseguest for the summer. But he’d do almost anything for his niece, who is practically like a sister to him given how close they are in age. Especially since Edith will be working nights and Henry works most days. When he and Edith keep missing each other in person, they begin exchanging notes—short messages at first, then longer letters, sharing increasingly personal parts of their lives.

By the time Henry realizes his mistake—that Edith is actually the brown-eyed beauty he keeps bumping into around town—their hearts are so intertwined he hopes they never unravel. But with her departure date rapidly approaching, and Henry’s roots firmly planted at home, Edith must ultimately decide if the adventure of her dreams is the one right in front of her.

Reminiscent of the beloved classic You’ve Got Mail comes a delightful new romantic comedy about mistaken identities, second chances, and finding love in unexpected places.

Genre: Inspirational

Praise for this book

"I couldn't put it down! Becca Kinzer's debut novel kept me turning pages well into the night. Dear Henry is a delightful story, with loveable characters in a town packed with quirks and charm that will have you laughing out loud. I can't wait for what this author puts out next!" - Tari Faris

"What a quick, sweet, and charming romance to brighten your day! A lovely debut by Kinzer that had me cheering for the unlikely, and yet-so-perfect, pair, Edith and Henry." - Melissa Ferguson

"With her fun writing voice, entertaining characters, and unique plot, Becca Kinzer is an up-and-coming author to watch. Dear Henry Love Edith is a heartwarming story that will keep you turning the pages to see how this unexpected romance grows and blossoms. Make room on your bookshelf for future Kinzer novels because you won't want to miss them." - Lisa Jordan

"Rarely have I read a romance with such sparkling personality. Everything about Kinzer's vibrant voice and freshly told love story tugged at my heart strings and widened my smile. Henry and Edith's quirky story as told with a dash of mistaken identity and peppered with epistolary flair is deepened by a cast of colourful supporting characters, zippy dialogue and resonant themes of loss and hope. Fans of Katherine Reay and Pepper Basham will be enchanted." - Rachel McMillan

"In Dear Henry, Love Edith, Becca Kinzer marvelously toys with favorite romance tropes such as mistaken identity, love at first sight, fake relationship, and May-December romance to create a fun romp full of heart and humor. With pop culture references and values from bygone eras, readers of all generations are sure to fall in love with Henry's charm and Edith's passion for helping those near and far." - Janine Rosche

"This delightful tale of mistaken identity is a must read for romance lovers! Charming, witty, and with plenty of comedy, Dear Henry, Love Edith pairs well with tea, a cozy blanket, and a penchant for happily ever afters." - Betsy St Amant

"With her debut romantic comedy, Becca Kinzer has established herself as a connoisseur of the genre-and an instant favorite of mine! Mistaken identities, love at first sight, friends to more, and even a delicious tease towards marriage of convenience come together to create a rom-com treat for readers to devour. Simultaneously a sweet romance with the perfect amount of heat and a laugh-out-loud comedy with a surprising dose of depth, Dear Henry, Love Edith is a witty and heartfelt gift from first word to last." - Bethany Turner


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Becca Kinzer's Dear Henry, Love Edith


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors