book cover of Burial Rites
Added by 3 of our members

Burial Rites

(2013)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Book (nominee)
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
Barry Awards Best First Book (nominee)
Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards.

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Hannah Kent's Burial Rites

Hardback Editions

September 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-23980-1 / 978-0-316-23980-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-24391-4 / 978-0-316-24391-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2013 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3316-6 / 978-1-4472-3316-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-24392-2 / 978-0-316-24392-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2014 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-74351-696-7 / 978-1-74351-696-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Picador Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


1807 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3317-4 / 978-1-4472-3317-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3565-7 / 978-1-4472-3565-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

September 2013 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-61969-979-6 / 978-1-61969-979-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


August 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2013 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2013 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-74315-330-9 / 978-1-74315-330-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

September 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


August 2013 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2013 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Picador Australia
Availability: Amazon AU