New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Next book >>

Burial Rites

(2013)
A novel by

 
Awards
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Book (nominee)
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
Barry Awards Best First Book (nominee)
Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards.

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...


The New Republic
Lionel Shriver

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr

Shoes for Anthony
Emma Kennedy
thumb
Independent People
Halldór Laxness
 
Used availability for Hannah Kent's Burial Rites


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

September 2013 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-23980-1 / 978-0-316-23980-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2013 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-24391-4 / 978-0-316-24391-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2013 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3316-6 / 978-1-4472-3316-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

April 2014 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 0-316-24392-2 / 978-0-316-24392-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Back Bay Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2014 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3317-4 / 978-1-4472-3317-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2013 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-4472-3565-7 / 978-1-4472-3565-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

September 2013 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
ISBN: 1-61969-979-6 / 978-1-61969-979-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   

August 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   

August 2013 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   

May 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   

May 2013 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

September 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites: A Novel
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

August 2013 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Burial Rites
Author(s): Hannah Kent
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for