book cover of The Light Over London
Added by 8 of our members

The Light Over London

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
Reminiscent of Martha Hall Kelly'sLilac Girlsand Kristin Hannah'sThe Nightingale, this sweeping, entrancing story is a must-listen for fans of remarkable women rising to challenges they could never have predicted.

It's always been easier for Cara Hargraves to bury herself in the past than confront the present, which is why working with a gruff but brilliant antiques dealer is perfect. While clearing out an estate, she pries open an old tin that holds the relics of a lost relationship: among the treasures, a World War II-era diary and a photograph of a young woman in uniform. Eager to find the author of the hauntingly beautiful, unfinished diary, Cara digs into this soldier's life, but soon realizes she may not have been ready for the stark reality of wartime London she finds within the pages.

In 1941, 19-year-old Louise Keene's life had been decided for her - she'll wait at home in her Cornish village until her wealthy suitor returns from war to ask for her hand. But when Louise unexpectedly meets Flight Lieutenant Paul Bolton, a dashing RAF pilot stationed at a local base, everything changes. And changes again when Paul's unit is deployed without warning.

Desperate for a larger life, Louise joins the women's branch of the British Army in the anti-aircraft gun unit as a Gunner Girl. As bombs fall on London, she and the other Gunner Girls relish in their duties to be exact in their calculations, and quick in their identification of enemy planes during air raids. The only thing that gets Louise through those dark, bullet-filled nights is knowing she and Paul will be together when the war is over. But when a bundle of her letters to him are returned unanswered, she learns that wartime romance can have a much darker side.

Illuminating the story of these two women separated by generations and experience, Julia Kelly transports us to World War II London in this heartbreakingly beautiful novel through forgotten antique treasures, remembered triumphs, and fierce family ties.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Deftly weaving together past and present, Kelly tells a fresh, heartfelt story of sisterhood and sacrifice, culminating in a gut-punch finish. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network." - Michelle Gable

"Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away." - Kristin Harmel

"The Light over London is a poignant reminder that there is no limit to what women can do. A nostalgic, engrossing read." - Julia London


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Julia Kelly's The Light Over London

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Light Over London: A heartbreaking and romantic wartime story of love, friendship and hope
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-4091-8936-8 / 978-1-4091-8936-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Light Over London (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-4328-5867-X / 978-1-4328-5867-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Light Over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-5011-9641-3 / 978-1-5011-9641-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: The Light Over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-4328-6919-1 / 978-1-4328-6919-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Large Print Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Light Over London: The most gripping and heartbreaking WW2 page-turner you need to read this year
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-4091-8937-6 / 978-1-4091-8937-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Light Over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-982107-01-4 / 978-1-982107-01-7
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Light Over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-982116-72-2 / 978-1-982116-72-9
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
ISBN: 1-5082-6747-2 / 978-1-5082-6747-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Lucy Brownhill
ISBN: 1-5082-6748-0 / 978-1-5082-6748-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Light over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Light Over London
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Gallery Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Light Over London: The most gripping and heartbreaking WW2 page-turner you need to read this year
Author(s): Julia Kelly
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU