Mike Krentz's picture

Mike Krentz

USA flag

Mike Krentz writes medical suspense and military fiction: The four-novel Flagship Series of military thrillers; and Dead Already, a medical suspense novel under contract for publication.

Mike's medical stories transport the reader into the stressful environment of emergency medicine, where life battles death amid terrified screams, plaintive cries, and shouted orders; where fallible humans strive to postpone death, restore life, eliminate misery. They often fail, then move on to quiet a frightened child, relieve pain, straighten a broken limb, repair a laceration, or reassure the worried well. What evil might lurk amidst such chaos?

His military stories portray the lives of servicemen and women, their challenges and interactions; and their wounds—physical and emotional—evolving into professional and personal conflicts often more provocative than combat. Can essential human relationships survive these brutal demands on hearts and souls?

Born and raised in Arizona, Mike earned a classical degree in English from the University of San Francisco, a Doctor of Medicine degree from the Medical College of Wisconsin, and a Master of Public Health Degree from Johns Hopkins University.

Following a civilian career as an emergency physician, Mike rededicated his professional life to serve America's Navy and Marine Corps heroes and their families and to honor the sacrifices they make in defending our freedom and way of life. His last assignment was as 7th Fleet Surgeon on board the flagship, USS BLUE RIDGE—the inspiration for the FLAGSHIP! series.

After retiring from the US Navy, Dr. Krentz continued his service as a consultant supporting the Navy and Marine Corps Public Health Center. Upon completion of that mission, he turned to his earliest life passion as full-time writer.

Genres: Thriller, Mystery
New and upcoming books
   1. Riven Dawn (2013)
   2. South China Sundown (2013)
   3. Rising Sun...Morning Storm (2014)
   4. Vectors (2016)
Dr. Zack Winston
   1. Dead Already (2020)
   2. Warm and Dead (2022)
   Angels Falling (2022)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Final Leg (2016)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors