book cover of Live, Local, and Dead
Added by 24 members
 

Live, Local, and Dead

(2022)
(The first book in the Vermont Radio Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Death waits for snowman in Nikki Knight’s new Vermont-based cozy series, perfect for fans of Connie Archer and Mary Kennedy.


In a fit of anger, radio DJ Jaye Jordan blows a snowman’s head off with a Revolutionary War-style musket. But the corpse that tumbles out is all too human. Jaye thought life would be quieter when she left New York City and bought a tiny Vermont radio station. But now, Edwin Anger—the ranting and raving radio talk show host who Jaye recently fired—lies dead in the snow. And the Edwin Anger fans who protested his dismissal are sure she killed him.
 
To clear her name, Jaye must find the real killer, as if she doesn’t have her hands full running the radio station, DJing her all-request love song show, and shuttling tween daughter Ryan to and from school. It doesn’t make matters easier that the governor—Jaye’s old crush—arrived on the scene before the musket smoke cleared. Fortunately, Jaye has allies…if you count the flatulent moose that lives in the transmitter shack, and Neptune, the giant gray cat that lives at the station.
 
If Jaye can turn the tables on the devious killer, she and the governor may get to make some sweet, sweet music together. But if she can’t, she’ll be off the air…permanently.
 


Genre: Cozy Mystery

Praise for this book

"Hoping for a peaceful life with her daughter in rural Vermont, Jaye Jordan gave up her life as a DJ in the Big Apple. Running WSV, a small local radio station, seemed a perfect choice. She never expected murder, bombs, or political death plots. But finding love and romance with someone from the past who sweeps her off her feet more than makes up for the danger. Live, Local and Dead is a heartwarming story, packed with thrills and romance." - Connie Archer

"Sharp, witty, and wry, with characters that will dance in your head, Live, Local and Dead is a refreshing take on cozy mystery romance. Not to be missed!" - J C Eaton

"Live, Local, and Dead starts with a bang and never lets up! With a feisty heroine and a diverse cast, this first-in-series provides a well-crafted mystery, a budding romance - and laughs along the way." - Vickie Fee

"If you like your cozies more salty than sweet, then Nikki Knight's new book absolutely needs to be your next read. With an original cast of Gen X-inspired characters, with a wit sharper than an infomercial knife set, Knight just may be my new favorite cozy mystery author. True story." - Harper Kincaid

"Razor-sharp prose, a spunky and savvy protagonist, and a cast of captivating characters make this lively entry into the world of mysteries a sure-fire success!" - Linda Reilly

"'I shot the snowman. But I did not kill the guy inside.' From this first line, I was hooked, and I didn't wriggle off until the end. I enjoyed the story so much that I slowed down my reading speed to delay finishing the book. I loved the characters, the plot (even if I had a good idea of whodunit - or who I hoped had done it), the writing. Nikki Knight achieved the right balance of quirkiness with believability - character development, no one too stupid to live, logic and coincidence, precocious kids who save the day but aren't annoyingly adult, a love interest that makes sense and isn't smarmy or cringe-inducing, a farting moose. I am looking forward to the continuation of the series." - Ilene Schneider


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Nikki Knight's Live, Local, and Dead


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors