book cover of Death in Provence
Added by 8 of our members

Death in Provence

(2018)
(The first book in the Death in series)
A novel by

 
 
The first entry in a clever, lighthearted mystery series set in modern Provence - a delightful blend of Agatha Christie and Peter Mayle - featuring the irrepressible Penelope Kite, a young-at-heart divorcee with a knack for stumbling across dead bodies.

It's love at first sight when Penelope Kite sees Le Chant d'Eau - The Song of Water - the stone farmhouse tucked high in the hills above the Luberon valley, complete with a garden, swimming pool, and sweeping mountain vistas. For years, Penelope put her unfaithful ex-husband and her ungrateful stepchildren first. Since taking early retirement from her job in forensics at the Home Office in England, she's been an unpaid babysitter and chauffeur for her grandchildren. Now, she's going to start living for herself. Though her dream house needs major renovations, Penelope impulsively buys the property and moves to St. Merlot.

But Penelope's daydreams of an adventurous life in Provence didn't include finding a corpse floating face down in her swimming pool. The discovery of the dead man plunges her headlong into a Provencal stew of intrigue and lingering resentments simmering beneath the deceptively sunny village. Having worked in the forensics office, Penelope knows a thing or two about murder investigations. To find answers, she must carefully navigate between her seemingly ubiquitous, supercilious (and enviably chic) estate agent, the disdainful chief of police, and the devilishly handsome mayor - even as she finds herself tempted by all the delicacies the region has to offer. Thank goodness her old friend Frankie is just a flight away . . . and that Penelope is not quite as naive as her new neighbors in St. Merlot believe.

Set against the exquisite backdrop of Provence, steeped in history, atmosphere, and secrets, Death in Provence introduces an irresistible heroine and a delightful new mystery series.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Bitter Feast
(Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, book 18)
Deborah Crombie
thumb
Death At the Chateau Bremont
(Verlaque and Bonnet Mystery, book 1)
M L Longworth

Used availability for Serena Kent's Death in Provence

Hardback Editions

February 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel (Penelope Kite)
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 0-06-286985-X / 978-0-06-286985-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Penelope Kite Novel
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 0-06-286986-8 / 978-0-06-286986-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel (Penelope Kite)
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 0-06-289493-5 / 978-0-06-289493-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: The perfect summer mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton and The Mitford Murders
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-4091-8200-2 / 978-1-4091-8200-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-982607-33-5 / 978-1-982607-33-3
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: Library Edition
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-982607-32-7 / 978-1-982607-32-6
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Death in Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-982607-34-3 / 978-1-982607-34-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel: Penelope Kite, Book 1
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel: Penelope Kite, Book 1
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel: Penelope Kite, Book 1
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


November 2018 : UK Audio CD

Title: Death In Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-78771-090-4 / 978-1-78771-090-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


November 2018 : UK Audio CD

Title: Death In Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
ISBN: 1-78771-126-9 / 978-1-78771-126-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: A Novel (Penelope Kite Book 1)
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: Harper
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Death in Provence: The perfect summer mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton and The Mitford Murders
Author(s): Serena Kent
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU