book cover of When the Nightingale Sings
Added by 41 members
 

When the Nightingale Sings

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
1939, Berlin, Cambridge, Paris, California. The world is in the grips of a terrible war. Can two young women change the course of history?

As war is declared in Europe, shy young Judy Morgan finishes her studies in Physics at Cambridge University. She never thought she’d be friends with someone as beautiful and glamorous as Hedy Lamarr, a young Jewish woman who has fled the Nazis, but Judy can’t ignore her brilliance.

It is a time when women are expected to stay at home, but as bombs tear apart the country she loves, Judy knows she must act. With Judy’s unparalleled knowledge of how the world works, and Hedy’s flair for invention, Judy is sure they can find a way to keep their loved ones safe.

But in war, impossible decisions must be made, unthinkable sacrifices must be suffered, and their work puts them in grave danger.

As they journey down a dark, uncertain path together, Judy realises her next step could tear their friendship apart. But the fate of the world is in her hands. Tragedy is inevitable, but can Judy solve the puzzle she has set herself, save millions, and put an end to this terrible war?

Fans of The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky will love this unputdownable, heartbreaking but uplifting novel. Based on two true stories of amazing ‘hidden women’ who altered the fate of the Second World War, this unforgettable novel about extraordinary courage, love and sacrifice proves the power of friendship even in the darkest hours of history.

What readers are saying about When the Nightingale Sings:

“Oh my word... This book had me in tears Fantastic.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow… such an inspiring emotional book!… Absolutely amazing. Would I recommend this book? Hell yes! Historical fans will go nuts over this book.” @oh.happy.reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

FantasticThis should be at the top of your reading listI needed tissues…one of my favorites of the year.” Fireflies and Free Kicks ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Exceptionalheart-wrenching… captivating… had me on the edge of my seat… An absolutely brilliant read where love and friendship wins out in the end. I was reduced to tearsTop of my list of books I have read.” Carol Clasper ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Heartbreaking… Truly a wonderful book.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Outstandingly beautiful.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Stunning,absolutely stunning!” NetGalley reviewer

Oh my gosh! What a powerful yet heartbreaking novel… The telling of this story is so real… brilliant.” Karen Loves Reading ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Unforgettable… A heartbreaking tale of two women who struggled to be recognised… An epic tale of their friendship, their resilience, courage and strength… FascinatingPerfect for fans of historical wartime fiction.” Confessions of a Bookaholic


Genre: Historical

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Suzanne Kelman's When the Nightingale Sings


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors