book cover of The Serpent and the Scorpion
 

The Serpent and the Scorpion

(2008)
(The second book in the Ursula Marlowe Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiress

It's the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father's textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya - the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula's factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. The Serpent and the Scorpion is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Clare Langley-Hawthorne's The Serpent and the Scorpion

Hardback Editions

March 2009 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Serpent and the Scorpion (Thorndike Press Large Print Mystery Series)
Author(s): Clare Langley-Hawthorne
ISBN: 1-4104-1369-1 / 978-1-4104-1369-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Serpent and the Scorpion: An Ursula Marlow Mystery
Author(s): Clare Langley-Hawthorne
ISBN: 0-14-311339-9 / 978-0-14-311339-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA