book cover of She Lies in Wait
Added by 16 of our members

She Lies in Wait

(2019)
(The first book in the DCI Jonah Sheens series)
A novel by

 
 
Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl is missing after a night of partying; 30 years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth - for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson.

"What a marvel! A corkscrew-twisty, knife-sharp thriller - yet it doubles as a tender ode to loss and longing. Prepare to be haunted." (A. J. Finn, author of theNew York Times best sellerThe Woman in the Window)

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group - Aurora Jackson - is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other - they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

Thirty years later, Aurora's body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers - including Aurora - personally, even before taking part in the search. Now, he's determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens's investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead and all of them profoundly changed forever.

This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.

"This enjoyably chilling suspense tale...conveys both the thrills and the dangers of being a teenager on the brink of adult independence.... The fascination of this story is in the character studies of the surviving children, all grown up now and participants in a dark mystery that they all wish had never seen the light of day." (The New York Times Book Review)

"The mystery intrigues and twists, offering enough red herrings and moments of police procedural to please fans of the genre." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Neatly plotted and nicely atmospheric.... This British import is plausible and eminently satisfying. Encore, please." (Booklist)

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"I can't remember a debut I read with such pleasure - a really masterful handling of complex plot and beautiful characterisation." - Helen Callaghan

"A strong debut thriller with dual timelines. Mysterious, stylish, and utterly compelling." - Will Dean

"She Lies in Wait delivers on just about every level - a killer premise, an absorbing plot that twists and turns at just the right pace, and in DCI Jonah Sheens a lead detective who has hit the page fully-formed and instantly likeable. One to watch!" - Caz Frear

"A dark, deep, terrific thriller and a scorching portrait of friendship and its betrayal." - Nicci French

"I loved it. A SUPERIOR crime book." - Marian Keyes

"Most enjoyable - Gytha Lodge is a skilled storyteller and she weaves such an intricate plot. The book hooked me early on and kept me up way past my bedtime on several nights! The team of detectives Gytha has put together is top notch. All in all, a very satisfying read." - James Oswald

"The discovery of human remains hidden in the woods forces six friends to relive the night that ended their innocence. In this cracking, page-turning thriller, Gytha Lodge brings the reader on a twisty edgy ride, flipping deftly between two timelines as it races towards the reveal. Gripping stuff." - Karen Perry

"She Lies in Wait drew me in from the very first page. Gytha Lodge has created a compulsive crime novel with a heartbreaking story and a complex plot as well as a whole set of brilliant characters, especially the clever and likeable DCI Sheens. Difficult to put down, it kept me guessing until the end." - Jenny Quintana

"A stunner, a proper whodunnit. It kept me up well past bed-time, turning those pages. Well-plotted, brilliant characters, beautifully written: a sure-fire hit." - Jo Spain

"By turns elegant and savage, absorbing and clinical, She Lies In Wait is one of those rare debuts that stops you dead, commands you to turn each page, and leaves you piecing together a story you are desperate to unfold yet loath to finish. Seriously impressive." - Chris Whitaker


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Tick Tock
(DS Grace Allendale, book 2)
Mel Sherratt

Used availability for Gytha Lodge's She Lies in Wait

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust?
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
ISBN: 0-241-36297-0 / 978-0-241-36297-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : Hardback
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: A Novel
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
ISBN: 1-984817-35-3 / 978-1-984817-35-8
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust?
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
ISBN: 1-4059-3848-X / 978-1-4059-3848-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: A Novel
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
ISBN: 1-984818-06-6 / 978-1-984818-06-5
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
ISBN: 0-241-36298-9 / 978-0-241-36298-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: A Novel
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: A Novel
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust?
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: She Lies in Wait: A Novel
Author(s): Gytha Lodge
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA