book cover of Deep River Night

Deep River Night

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Russell Banks, and Annie Proulx, the much-anticipated new novel by the best-selling author of Red Dog, Deep River Night is set over the course of 48 hours in a remote sawmill community where violence, complicity, and inaction run deep.

World War Two vet Art Kenning is the alcoholic first-aid man in an isolated sawmill village in the interior of BC, where he dreads the sound of the five whistles that summon him to the mill floor whenever a worker is hurt. Traumatized by an incident in Holland, when he stood by while members of his unit committed a horrific act, he loses himself in drink, and in memories of the love affair he had with a woman in wartime Paris. But the sad comfort of his self-imposed detachment is shattered when one of the most powerful men at the mill arrives at his door late one evening to ask for his help. What unfolds over the course of that night and following day will force Art to confront acts of evil, both in the present and the past, as well as the tragic consequences of his own inaction.

Alternating with Art's story are the stories of Joel, a teenage runaway who owes his life to Art, Wang Po, the mill's cook and a survivor of the Rape of Nanjing, Alice, a young Indigenous girl sold from a residential school, and, Cliff, a Metis man with a hidden past. These lives, and more, intertwine to reveal a complex, morally ambiguous community where the undercurrents of violence and complicity are never far from the surface.

Writing with exquisite precision and emotional force, Patrick Lane gives us a novel whose darkness is fractured by moments of light. Deep River Night is a riveting story about the burden of bearing witness to a terrible crime.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"The power of Patrick Lane’s prose springs from lived experience, shaped and tempered by the astonishing skill acquired through a lifetime in poetry. Lane has history with this world, these men—the kind of history that sticks in the mind’s eye—and he lays bare the inner workings of a broken mind, sheltering against the unbearable past and bombarded by it anyway. This a mourning book, elegiac, bloody, all fire and ashes, but taking great care for what gentleness may be left in the world." - Marina Endicott

"Ablaze with a savage compassion, Deep River Night is a vast, sweeping novel of war, loss, violence, and forgiveness. This is Patrick Lane’s song of experience, written in a prose of shadow and light, exquisite as an ink painting, exploring the ways the past will not leave us alone. It is a gorgeous, furious achievement, a work of art of the highest order." - Steven Price

"Patrick Lane is one of the finest writers I know." - David Adams Richards

"In a novel that journeys from wartime Europe and China to the remote interior of B.C., Patrick Lane offers us a wise, profound meditation on loss, longing, and the struggle for redemption. It is a work of art in which every sentence sings, revealing love and beauty hidden in unexpected lives and places. Deep River Night is a wonder." - Guy Vanderhaeghe


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Patrick Lane's Deep River Night

Hardback Editions

February 2018 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: Deep River Night
Author(s): Patrick Lane
ISBN: 0-7710-4817-3 / 978-0-7710-4817-3 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Deep River Night: A Novel
Author(s): Patrick Lane
ISBN: 0-7710-4819-X / 978-0-7710-4819-7 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Deep River Night
Author(s): Patrick Lane
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   


February 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Deep River Night
Author(s): Patrick Lane
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2018 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Deep River Night
Author(s): Patrick Lane
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA