book cover of Annex
Added by 2 of our members

Annex

(2018)
(The first book in the Violet Wars series)
A novel by

 
 
"An exciting twist on a hostile-alien-takeover drama...exhilarating."--Washington Post
"An energetic, nonstop adventure."--Chicago Tribune
Independence Day meets Lord of the Flies in this "thrilling and imaginative" debut about two young outsiders forced to fight off alien invaders in a post-apocalyptic city. (Fonda Lee)
When the aliens invade, all seems lost. The world as they know it is destroyed. Their friends are kidnapped. Their families are changed.
But with no adults left to run things, young trans-girl Violet and her new friend Bo realize that they are free. Free to do whatever they want. Free to be whoever they want to be.

Except the invaders won't leave them alone for long...

This "warm, thrilling adventure about what happens after the end of the world" is for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Ann Leckie. (Cherie Priest)

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Wunderkind Rich Larson's Annex gives us nonstop action set pieces as breathtakingly clever as they are relentless and a vivid, compelling cast. Sequels now, please!" - Mike Allen

"Rich Larson has an amazing knack for capturing the lonesomeness of growing up, and how much random cruelty and steadfast companionship there is in childhood. Not to mention, just how alien and scary families can be." - Charlie Jane Anders

"A thrilling and imaginative entry into the alien invasion genre with two fierce and desperate young protagonists you won't be able to stop rooting for." - Fonda Lee

"Annex is a ferocious sci-fi fairy tale--a warm, thrilling adventure about what happens after the end of the world. Both epic and intimate in equal measure, this one's a joy and a blast, from beginning to end." - Cherie Priest

"Rich Larson presents a uniquely compelling apocalypse--equal parts frightening and touching." - Alex White


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Chilling Effect
(Chilling Effect, book 1)
Valerie Valdes
thumb
A Girl From Nowhere
(Firewall Trilogy, book 1)
James Maxwell

Used availability for Rich Larson's Annex

Paperback Editions

July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Annex (The Violet Wars (1))
Author(s): Rich Larson
ISBN: 0-316-41654-1 / 978-0-316-41654-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Annex (The Violet Wars Book 1)
Author(s): Rich Larson
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Annex (The Violet Wars)
Author(s): Rich Larson
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU