book cover of Darksolstice


(The second book in the Monsters of Lyonesse series)
A novel by

Not long ago twelve year old Idris Limpet was just an ordinary schoolboy. That was until he was taken from his home and taught to tame monsters from another world. Then he pulled a sword out of a stone. Now, he is Idris House Draco, Rightful King of the Land of Lyonesse.

Rightful kings have their problems, however, and Idris has his fair share. He is an exile - hunted from his country by the evil regent Fisheagle and her wicked son Murther. Moreover, Idris's dear friend and sister Morgan has been carried off as a slave to the distant land of Aegypt.

And before he can return to fight for his throne and his people, Idris must make the treacherous journey to rescue Morgan. . . .

But Idris is never on his own, for as he travels, he meets a company of friends. Friends who shall become Idris's faithful Knights of the Round Table, who will raise armies and return with Idris and Morgan to challenge Fisheagle's monstrous armies and reclaim his Kingdom of Lyonesse unless it is already too late.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Used availability for Sam Llewellyn's Darksolstice

Hardback Editions

February 2010 : USA Hardback

Title: Lyonesse Book 2: Darksolstice
Author(s): Sam Llewellyn
ISBN: 0-439-93471-0 / 978-0-439-93471-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Orchard Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Paperback Editions

July 2011 : USA Paperback

Title: Darksolstice: Lyonesse Book II
Author(s): Sam Llewellyn
ISBN: 0-439-93472-9 / 978-0-439-93472-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

March 2010 : UK Paperback

Title: Dark Solstice (Monsters of Lyonesse)
Author(s): Sam Llewellyn
ISBN: 1-4071-0283-4 / 978-1-4071-0283-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Scholastic
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU