book cover of Telegrams and Teacakes
Added by 20 of our members
 

Telegrams and Teacakes

(2018)
(The third book in the Wartime Bakery series)
A novel by

 
 
'There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies: a sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.'

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl...

At the Barton Bakery, Betty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton, but Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

Audrey's stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much, a man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams...

As Winston Churchill tells the country to 'never give in', the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry.

What readers are saying about Telegrams and Teacakes:
'I couldn't stop grinning... a truly wonderful story that totally enveloped me. With so many lovely characters, they really do capture your heart making this an emotional rollercoaster of a read. An endearing read that can be read and enjoyed, again and again.' By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

'A beautiful, beautiful story. Based during the war it tells the story of a family, friends and neighbours of a bakery and how they strive to overcome hardships. Lots of tears and laughter. Highly recommend it.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Absolutely loved this book. I'm a huge fan of wartime sagas with believable characters and this definitely ticked that box. It was a realistic and fascinating glimpse into the past and I was gripped from page one. Couldn't wait to get to the end and see how things unfolded.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The writing instantly transports you back... an emotional rollercoaster of a story - sadness and tears over what they had to suffer but also a heart-warming story of family and friendships. Highly recommended.' Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

'Absolutely marvellous... my emotions were ripped apart as I was left in tears more than once... truly engaging, filled me with warmth' Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

'Beautifully written, heartfelt and also feel-good... I love reading stories like this... It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'There was a real sense of pulling together and hope. Amy has managed to get the right blend of humour and heartache... a must for any reader.' Jen Med's Book Reviews, 5 stars

What readers are saying about Amy Miller:
'You will love this ... An absolutely brilliant family saga and one which I can highly recommend. A perfect read for these colder nights curled up with a nice cup of tea!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I couldn't put this book down and it kept me hooked until the very last page.' Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

'Genuinely heartwarming... I loved everything... I cannot recommend this book to you enough - I thought it was superb!!' Donnas Book Blog, 5 stars

'I absolutely loved it... a wonderful story of love, romance, family, friendship, secrets, charity and a tasty bakery.' Little Miss No Sleep

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Amy Miller's Telegrams and Teacakes

Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: A heartbreaking World War Two family saga: Volume 3 (Wartime Bakery)
Author(s): Amy Miller
ISBN: 1-78681-539-7 / 978-1-78681-539-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
ISBN: 1-4894-5962-6 / 978-1-4894-5962-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : Australia MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
ISBN: 1-4894-5981-2 / 978-1-4894-5981-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: Wartime Bakery, Book 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: Wartime Bakery, Book 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: Wartime Bakery, Book 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: Wartime Bakery, Book 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
ISBN: 1-4894-5507-8 / 978-1-4894-5507-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2018 : Australia Audio CD
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: 3
Author(s): Amy Miller
ISBN: 1-4894-5508-6 / 978-1-4894-5508-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Bolinda audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Telegrams and Teacakes: A heartbreaking World War Two family saga (Wartime Bakery)
Author(s): Amy Miller
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU