book cover of Kingdom of Darkness
Added by 54 of our members

Kingdom of Darkness

(2014)
(The tenth book in the Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of James Rollins and Matthew Reilly comes a gripping, globe-spanning adventure in Andy McDermott’s thrilling series featuring American archaeologist Nina Wilde and ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie Chase.
 
History’s most sought after treasure is now mankind’s worst fear.
 
In Los Angeles, a desperate man seeks out renowned archaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband, ex–SAS soldier Eddie Chase—only to be gunned down in front of them. The assassin is soon identified as a ninety-year-old Nazi war criminal—with the body of a healthy forty-year-old.
 
Following the victim’s final warnings, Nina and Eddie travel to Cairo to inspect the newly discovered tomb of Alexander the Great. But the real find is hidden in one of its treasures—a mechanical guide leading to one of antiquity’s most tantalizing myths: a spring of water said to give eternal life to those who drink it.
 
Nina, Eddie, and a team of Mossad agents realize that the myth is real, and that a group of former SS men who have tasted this water are now hunting for its source. But before they can act, Nina is kidnapped and spirited away to a secret Nazi enclave in Argentina, igniting a fierce, fateful, globe-spanning struggle in which her life hangs in the balance. All the while a terrifying possibility emerges—that the world’s darkest evil could live on forever.
 
Praise for the novels of Andy McDermott
 
“Raises the bar to please adventure junkies who prefer to mainline their action.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review), on The Hunt for Atlantis
 
“A fun, action-filled James Bond/Indiana Jones–esque story.”—Geek Speak Magazine, on Return to Atlantis
 
“Adventure stories don’t get much more epic than this.”Daily Mirror (U.K.)

Praise for Kingdom of Darkness
 
“When it comes to archaeological adventure thrillers, I’m not sure that there’s anyone writing in the genre today who is stronger, smarter, or more consistent than Andy McDermott. His Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase series is like a mixture of Indiana Jones, James Bond, Dirk Pitt, and Jack Bauer. . . . Kingdom of Darkness is smart, clever, and exciting stuff. . . . If you’re looking for a solid archaeological adventure that is as committed to the history as to the thrills, then this is definitely worth a read.”—Beauty in Ruins
 
“Nonstop, relentless extreme action . . . [McDermott’s] thrillers have become increasingly accomplished, confident and rounded. The characters of Nina and Eddie are so well developed they appear almost to have a life of their own and their story has become arguably the most important aspect of the books. The plots are always exciting, pacey and gobsmacking [and] the runaway train action is matched by heart, with many laugh-out-loud lines as well as other scenes of devastating sadness or cruelty. What a fantastic series!”—For Winter Nights
 
“As ever, Andy McDermott mixes high-action car chases, gun battles and mysterious quests, then shakes them well to provide an explosive cocktail. A breakneck running battle on a speeding train is an absolute classic, reminiscent of Bond films at their best.”—Crime Review
 
“An excellent thriller, exhausting, laugh-out-loud funny and gobsmackingly heartbreaking. If you like high octane thrillers then you cannot miss this book.”—Parmenion Books

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Overwatch
(Logan West, book 1)
Matthew Betley
thumb
Inquisition
(Jack Howard, book 10)
David Gibbins
thumb
The Secret Weapon
(Alexander King, book 1)
Bradley Wright

Used availability for Andy McDermott's Kingdom of Darkness

Hardback Editions

August 2014 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 0-7553-8072-X / 978-0-7553-8072-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 0-7553-8074-6 / 978-0-7553-8074-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: A Novel (Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 0-345-53708-4 / 978-0-345-53708-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 1-4722-2659-3 / 978-1-4722-2659-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


August 2014 : Paperback
thumb

Title: [(Kingdom of Darkness)] [ By (author) Andy McDermott ] [August, 2014]
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 0-7553-8073-8 / 978-0-7553-8073-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: Wilde/Chase, Book 10
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   


October 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: Wilde/Chase, Book 10
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: Wilde/Chase, Book 10
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase, 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 1-5159-1333-3 / 978-1-5159-1333-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase, 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 1-5159-6333-0 / 978-1-5159-6333-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase Series, Book 10
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase Series, Book 10
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2015 : UK Audio CD

Title: Kingdom Of Darkness
Author(s): Andy McDermott
ISBN: 1-78433-481-2 / 978-1-78433-481-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness: A Novel (Nina Wilde & Eddie Chase series Book 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Dell
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


August 2014 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Kingdom of Darkness (Wilde/Chase 10)
Author(s): Andy McDermott
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU