Eloise Jarvis McGraw's picture

Eloise Jarvis McGraw

USA flag (1915 - 2000)

Eloise Jarvis McGraw was an author of children's books and young adult novels. She also wrote an adult novel called Pharaoh. She was awarded the Newberry Honour three times in three different decades, for her novels Moccasin Trail (1952), The Golden Goblet (1962), and The Moorchild (1997). A Really Weird Summer (1977) won an Edger Award for Best Juvenile Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America. McGraw had a very strong interest in history, and among the many books she wrote for children are Greensleeves, The Seventeenth Swap, and Mara, Daughter of the Nile.

Genres: Children's Fiction
Series contributed to
   40. Merry Go Round in Oz (1963) (with Lauren McGraw)
   43. Forbidden Fountain of Oz (1980) (with Lauren Lynn McGraw)
   47. The Rundelstone of Oz (2002)
thumbno image availablethumb
Non fiction
no image available
Newbery Medal Best Novel nominee (1997) : The Moorchild