book cover of The World of Ice and Fire
Added by 6 of our members

The World of Ice and Fire

(2014)
(A book in the Song of Ice and Fire Non Fiction series)
A non fiction book by

 
 
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . The perfect holiday gift for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones - an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork - the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time - warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This lavishly illustrated volume isa comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. Garcia, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org - perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including

. artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
. full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
. in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
. 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book

The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin's dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for George R R Martin's The World of Ice and Fire

Hardback Editions

2012 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones (Song of Ice & Fire)
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio M Garcia Jr , Linda Antonsson
ISBN: 0-00-758091-6 / 978-0-00-758091-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio Garcia, Linda Antonsson
ISBN: 0-553-80544-4 / 978-0-553-80544-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio M Garcia Jr , Linda Antonsson
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon   


November 2014 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio M Garcia Jr , Linda Antonsson
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2014 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio M Garcia Jr , Linda Antonsson
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2014 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio Garcia, Linda Antonsson
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2014 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio Garcia, Linda Antonsson
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2014 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio M Garcia Jr , Linda Antonsson
Publisher: HarperVoyager
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire)
Author(s): George R R Martin, Elio Garcia, Linda Antonsson
Publisher: Bantam
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA