James Vance Marshall

(Donald Gordon Payne)
UK flag (1924 - 2018)

aka Ian Cameron, Donald Gordon

The Children, later known as Walkabout, though published under the name James Vance Marshall, was actually written by the English author Donald Gordon Payne as were a number of Payne's later works for children. The Children and other works were apparently based on Marshall's travel notes and diaries, and in the case of The Children, Marshall may have drafted the work. Marshall claimed the work as his own during his lifetime while Payne has also claimed it as his own. Following Marshall's death, and with permission from the family, Payne continued to publish novels for children and adults using Marshall's name. There has been confusion about the status of the works in numerous sources.

Genres: Thriller
Lost Ones (as by Ian Cameron)
   1. The Lost Ones (1970)
     aka The Island at the Top of the World
   2. Devil Country (1973)
     aka The Mountains at the Bottom of the World
   The Children (1959)
     aka Walkabout
   The Golden Seal (1962)
   A River Ran Out of Eden (1962)
   Star-Raker (1962) (as by Donald Gordon)
   Flight of the Bat (1964) (as by Donald Gordon)
   My Boy John That Went to Sea (1966)
   A Walk To The Hills Of The Dreamtime (1970)
   The Wind at Morning (1973)
   The White Ship (1975) (as by Ian Cameron)
   Summer in the South (1979)
   Still Waters (1982)
Non fiction
   The Impossible Dream (1972) (as by Donald Gordon)