book cover of The Looking Glass

The Looking Glass

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for fans of Emily Henry and Sarah Dessen, Janet McNally's imaginative story of sisterhood shows that the fiercest of loves are often the ones that exist outside of happily-ever-afters.

GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That's what Sylvie Blake's older sister Julia renamed their favorite fairy tale book, way back when they were just girls themselves. Now Julia has disappeared - and no one knows for sure if she wants to be away, or if she's the one in trouble.

Then a copy of their old storybook arrives with a mysterious list inside, and Sylvie begins to see signs of her sister, and their favorite fairy tales, everywhere she goes.

With the help of her best friend's enigmatic brother and his beat-up car, Sylvie sets out to follow the strange signs right to Julia and return to New York with her in tow. But trouble comes in lots of forms - and Sylvie soon learns that the damsel in distress is often the only one who can save herself.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Janet McNally’s The Looking Glass is gossamer woven with gold and glass: a fairytale of a novel rooted in the heart of real life. An absolute beauty of a read." - Kathleen Glasgow

"Much like her ballerina heroine, Janet McNally makes her effervescent writing seem effortless. But there’s grit beneath the glitter of this charming road-trip fairytale. Stock up on highlighters: you’ll want to underline every perfect sentence." - Harriet Reuter Hapgood

"Reading this book feels like standing in a sunbeam and watching the dust glitter. McNally transforms the mundane into the extraordinary, expertly pairs life’s bitter with its sweet, and coaxes her readers into a world they won’t soon want to leave. The Looking Glass is pure delight." - Emily Henry

"A lyrical and heartfelt tale of love, family, and self-discovery that will sweep you up in its magic right from the very first page." - Caleb Roehrig

"A poignant, beautifully-woven story, THE LOOKING GLASS explores all the complexities of love, loss, family, and healing, as we follow one girl on a powerful journey of self-discovery." - Amber Smith

"Janet McNally’s writing glows like your best memory, sensuous and alive with moonlight and the smell of flowers." - Jeff Zentner


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Janet McNally's The Looking Glass

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Looking Glass
Author(s): Janet McNally
ISBN: 0-06-243627-9 / 978-0-06-243627-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Looking Glass
Author(s): Janet McNally
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA