Jeffrey Marks's picture
1 follower

Jeffrey Marks

USA flag (b.1960)

Jeffrey Marks was born in Georgetown, Ohio, the boyhood home of Ulysses S. Grant. Although he moved with his family at an early age, the family frequently told stories about Grant and the people of the small farming community.
At the age of twelve, he was introduced to the works of Agatha Christie via her short story collection, The Underdog and Other Stories. He finished all her books by the age of sixteen and had begun to collect mystery first editions.
After stints on the high school and college newspapers, he began to freelance. After numerous author profiles, he chose to chronicle the short but full life of mystery writer Craig Rice
That biography (which comes out in the US in April 2001 as Who Was That Lady?) encouraged him to write mystery fiction. The Ambush of My Name is the first mystery novel by Marks to be published although he has several mystery short story anthologies on the market.
His work has won a number of awards including the Barnes and Noble Prize and he was nominated for a Maxwell award. Today, he writes from his home in Cincinnati, which he shares with his dog.

Genres: Mystery, Historical Mystery, Cozy Mystery
Marissa Scott Mystery
   1. The Scent of Murder (2004)
   2. Love Stinks (2012)
   3. What Fresh Smell (2016)
   Silver Bullets (2019) (with others)
Anthologies edited
   Canine Crimes (1998)
   Canine Christmas (1999)
   Magnolias and Mayhem (2000)
   Criminal Appetites (2004)
   Derby Rotten Scoundrels (2004)
   Techno-Noir (2013) (with Eva Batonne)
   Atomic Renaissance (2022)
Non fiction show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors