book cover of The Five-Day Dig

The Five-Day Dig

(2011)
A novel by

 
 
An invitation to translate ancient inscriptions near Pompeii over the summer is a dream come true for college classics professor Winnie Price. Although the dig is for a cheesy TV archaeology program instead of a scholarly project, it's a way to carry on the legacy of her archaeologist father, who passed away on their last trip to Italy.

Then her department chair horns his way in on the gig. The show host is more sensationalist than scientist. Her cocky young British assistant Chaz keeps flirting with her--and getting harder to resist. A looter's hole appears at the excavation site. Worst of all, it turns out someone forged the referral letter that got her on the show, and the prime suspect is her--or Chaz.

Add to the mix a reenactment of pagan rites spiced up with a psychoactive home-brewed beer, and Winnie has a lot more to interpret than Latin.

Fans of Jess Walter, Graeme Simsion, and Ella Carey will love the smart characters and academic mystery in this standalone romantic comedy with a vibrant Italian setting and an international archaeological plot.

Genre: Romance

Used availability for Jennifer Malin's The Five-Day Dig

Paperback Editions

November 2011 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Five-Day Dig
Author(s): Jennifer Malin
ISBN: 1-4664-4347-2 / 978-1-4664-4347-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Five-Day Dig
Author(s): Jennifer Malin
Publisher: Jennifer Malin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU