book cover of The Change
Added by 10 of our members
 

The Change

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK 

"Miller triumphs...THE CHANGE is that rare treat: a suspenseful story with great pacing, memorable characters, and an engaging voice. Fantastic in every way, this fierce anthem against misogyny is a smash."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A pointed, punchy, and potent thriller...wry and clever, serious and exacting, and masterfully suspenseful."--Booklist (starred review)

Big Little Lies meets The Witches of Eastwick—a gloriously entertaining and knife-sharp feminist revenge fantasy about three women whose midlife crisis brings unexpected new powers—putting them on a collision course with the evil that lurks in their wealthy beach town. 

In the Long Island oceanfront community of Mattauk, three different women discover that midlife changes bring a whole new type of empowerment…

After Nessa James’s husband dies and her twin daughters leave for college, she’s left all alone in a trim white house not far from the ocean. In the quiet of her late forties, the former nurse begins to hear voices. It doesn’t take long for Nessa to realize that the voices calling out to her belong to the dead—a gift she’s inherited from her grandmother, which comes with special responsibilities.

On the cusp of 50, suave advertising director Harriett Osborne has just witnessed the implosion of her lucrative career and her marriage. She hasn’t left her house in months, and from the outside, it appears as if she and her garden have both gone to seed. But Harriett’s life is far from over—in fact, she’s undergone a stunning and very welcome metamorphosis.

Ambitious former executive Jo Levison has spent thirty long years at war with her body. The free-floating rage and hot flashes that arrive with the beginning of menopause feel like the very last straw—until she realizes she has the ability to channel them, and finally comes into her power.

Guided by voices only Nessa can hear, the trio of women discover a teenage girl whose body was abandoned beside a remote beach. The police have written the victim off as a drug-addicted sex worker, but the women refuse to buy into the official narrative. Their investigation into the girl’s murder leads to more bodies, and to the town’s most exclusive and isolated enclave, a world of stupendous wealth where the rules don’t apply. With their newfound powers, Jo, Nessa, and Harriett will take matters into their own hands…



Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"Searing and witty and full of so much warranted rage. This was a book I didn't know I was aching for. I cheered on every page." - Erin A Craig

"There is a specter haunting women - the specter of rage. Kirsten Miller has woven a fun, gripping, lush, real fable, a Stepford Wives for the twenty-first century, a Witches of Eastwick if it had actually been written by a woman. THE CHANGE is poisonous as henbane, and twice as delicious." - Katherine Howe

"A delicious fantasy full of righteous rage, thorny entanglements, powerful sisterhood, and (wink, nudge) herbal remedies. Forget the teen dabblers of The Craft, or the lovelorn witches of Practical Magic: Joe, Nessa, and Harriet are the dynamic coven that angry feminist dreams are made of, here to remind us that everything gets better with age and experience-- especially revenge." - Kat Rosenfield


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kirsten Miller's The Change

Hardback Editions

August 2022 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Change: for fans of VOX and THE POWER, this will be the most talked about debut thriller of 2022!
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-00-849465-7 / 978-0-00-849465-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2022 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-06-314404-2 / 978-0-06-314404-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2023 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Change: for fans of VOX and THE POWER, this will be the most talked about debut thriller of 2023!
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-00-849469-X / 978-0-00-849469-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-06-324185-4 / 978-0-06-324185-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Change
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-00-853804-2 / 978-0-00-853804-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ Fiction GB
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Change: for fans of VOX and THE POWER, this will be the most talked about debut thriller of 2022!
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-00-849466-5 / 978-0-00-849466-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ Fiction GB
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
ISBN: 0-06-325222-8 / 978-0-06-325222-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

August 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Change
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Change
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2022 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Change: for fans of VOX and THE POWER, this will be the most talked about debut thriller of 2022!
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2022 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Change
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: HQ
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Change: A Novel
Author(s): Kirsten Miller
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA