book cover of Lilith
Added by 23 members
 

Lilith

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
A triumphantly feminist retelling of ancient creation myths in the tradition of Madeline Miller and Claire North.

Lyrically rendered, this epic U.S. debut tells the story of the woman known as Adam's first wife and her fall from Paradise and quest for revenge.


Before Eve, there was Lilith.

Lilith and Adam are equal and happy in the Garden of Eden. Until Adam decides Lilith should submit to his will and lie beneath him. She refuses—and is banished forever from Paradise.

Demonized and sidelined, Lilith watches in fury as God creates Eve, the woman who accepts her submission. But Lilith has a secret: she has already tasted the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge. Endowed with Wisdom, she knows why Asherah—God’s wife and equal, the Queen of Heaven—is missing. Lilith has a plan: she will rescue Eve, find Asherah, restore balance to the world, and regain her rightful place in Paradise. 

Lilith’s quest for justice drives her throughout history, from the ziggurats of Ancient Sumer, to the court of Israel’s Queen Jezebel, and to the side of a radical preacher in Roman Judea. Noah’s wife, Norea, Jezebel and Mary Magdalene all play their part in Lilith’s enlightenment. In the modern age, as she observes the catastrophic consequences of a world built on inequality, Lilith finally understands what must be done to correct the wrong done to women—and all humankind—at the beginning of time.

Inspired by ancient myths and suppressed scriptures, Lilith is a thought-provoking and ambitious novel with an evocative literary voice and a triumphantly engaging heroine.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"[A] joyous rampage through Biblical history." - Alice Albinia

"Fans of Madeline Miller and Jenny Saint will love this evocative feminist retelling." - Rosie Andrews

"Electric and empowering." - Niamh Boyce

"A sumptuous feast and furious tornado of a novel." - Maggie Brookes

"A wonderfully subversive novel." - Joanne Burn

"A rich, vividly written story of passion, betrayal and female rage." - Sophie Keetch

"A primal cry echoing through the centuries." - Luna McNamara

"A fun and thought-provoking journey . . . Daring, fresh and playful." - Ann Morgan

"The most powerful, audacious, hopeful novel I've ever read." - Louise Morrish

"Illuminating, fascinating and important - a fierce and valuable addition to feminist myth-retellings." - Jennifer Saint

"Exquisitely written and full of wit and female rage." - Rani Selvarajah

"Exquisite prose brings this compelling, highly relevant tale of Adam's first wife to life." - Laura Shepperson

"One of the most gloriously feminist myth-meets-historical-fiction novels." - Susan C Wilson


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Nikki Marmery's Lilith


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors