1 follower
3 books added

Oisín McGann

Ireland (b.1973)

Born in Dublin in 1973, Oisin spent his childhood there and in Drogheda, County Louth. Unable to conceive of a way to make a living from writing fiction, he decided to fund his dreams of being an author by working as an illustrator (yes, he was that naive). He signed up for a design and print foundation course and then studied animation at Dun Laoghaire School of Art and Design. Setting up as a freelance illustrator/artist, he then took up a position at Fred Wolf Films, working on the animated series of Zorro. After completing his contract, he decided to expand his horizons and left for London to seek his fortune. He found gainful employment as a security guard, watching over trains and then hospitals. Following three and a half years of working in advertising he became increasingly concerned for his immortal soul. He returned to Ireland much as he had left - with no job, no home and some meagre savings. Ever the optimist, he now works once more as a freelance illustrator and mercenary artist by day and escapist writer by night. He hopes one day to have a decent job, with a pension, a health plan and paid annual holidays.

Genres: Fantasy, Children's Fiction
New and upcoming books
Mad Grandad
   1. Mad Grandad's Flying Saucer (2003)
     aka Mad Grandad and the Flying Saucer
   2. Mad Grandad's Robot Garden (2003)
     aka Mad Grandad and the Robot Garden
   3. Mad Grandad and the Kleptoes (2005)
   4. Mad Grandad and the Mutant River (2005)
   5. Mad Grandad's Wicked Pictures (2007)
   6. Mad Grandad's Doppelganger (2010)
Forbidden Files
   1. The Evil Hairdo (2006)
   2. The Poison Factory (2006)
   Wired Teeth (2008)
Rat Runners
   Rat Runners (2013)
   Spoil the Kill (2014)
Kings of the Realm
   1. War's Harvest (2014)
   2. Cruel Salvation (2014)
no image available
   The Gods and Their Machines (2004)
   Small-Minded Giants (2006)
   The Goblin of Tara (2007)
   Daylight Runner (2008)
   The Baby Giant (2009)
   The Evil Eye (2009)
   Cut Off at the Throat (2024)
Novellas and Short Stories
Series contributed to
   The Armoured Ghost (2010)
   Lying Eyes (2010)
   Orphan Factory (2011)
   Dead-End Junction (2011)
Picture Books show
Non fiction show
Books containing stories by Oisín McGann
Future Hopes (2024)
Hopeful stories in a time of climate change
edited by
Lauren James
Beyond the Stars (2014)
Twelve Tales of Adventure, Magic and Wonder
edited by
Sarah Webb

Award nominations
2005 Locus Award for Best First Novel (nominee) : The Gods and Their Machines

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors