book cover of Men of Honour
Added by 3 of our members

Men of Honour

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
'A storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle' - Bernard Cornwall

Two soldiers. One war. And no victors.

Major Gary Pearson has only a few more weeks left to serve before he brings to a close a career in the British Army that has been long and violent. So many young lives have been lost that he is now just looking towards the finishing line - and desperate to get all his men across it alive.

Captain Richard Shaw sees the battle differently. To him, success in the field means glory, and glory means promotion. If men get hurt along the way, that's soldiering. This is a campaign that will be fought to the death - and in which the sanity of the men is more likely to be a casualty than the enemy.

In this brilliant, provocative novel Pearson and Shaw clash brutally in the dusty, blood-soaked killing fields of Afghanistan. In the tradition of Journey's End and Tunes of Glory, Men of Honour is a searingly honest, graphic account of the front-line realities of modern warfare.

Patrick Mercer is author of the Doctor Watson series, as well as Men of Honour. A military historian by training, he was decorated four times as an infantry officer and then was the defence correspondent for BBC Radio 4's Today Programme.

Genre: Thriller

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Blood Roses
(Warsaw Quartet, book 1)
Douglas Jackson
thumb
Peter Wicked
(Matty Graves, book 3)
Broos Campbell

Used availability for Patrick Mercer's Men of Honour

Kindle Editions

September 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Men of Honour
Author(s): Patrick Mercer
Publisher: Lume Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU