book cover of The Wreckage
Added by 7 of our members

The Wreckage

(2020)
A novel by

 
 


One of The Times 'Best New Crime Fiction' picks



'A thrilling, creepy climax and a double-whammy twist. A more than promising debut.' - The Times



'A twist I never saw coming, and a male main character with insecurity and vulnerability - I've never met anyone like him in a thriller before.' - Rosamund Lupton

'Creepy and compelling' - Peter James

One fatal crash


Ben is driving on the motorway, on his usual commute to the school where he works. A day like any other, except for the crash.

Two colliding worlds

Adam has left his home for the last time. In his final despairing act, he jumps in front of Ben's car, turning the teacher's world upside down.

Three wrecked lives

Wracked with guilt, Ben seeks out Alice, Adam's widow, and her 7-year-old son Max. But as he tries to escape the trauma of the wreckage, could Ben go too far in trying to ease his conscience?

Gripping and sinister, The Wreckage is guaranteed to keep you up all night...

Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, Cara Hunter and C.L. Taylor.

'A terrific debut exploring the vulnerabilities and co-dependency of damaged individuals. I loved the wonderfully subtle but insistent tone of menace woven into the narrative, winding me into the colliding worlds of Ben and Alice and pushing me on to finish it. Clever and compelling!' - Fiona Barton, bestselling author of The Widow



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A terrific debut exploring the vulnerabilities and co-dependency of damaged individuals. I loved the wonderfully subtle but insistent note of menace woven into the narrative, winding me into the colliding worlds of Ben and Alice and pushing me on to finish it. Clever and compelling!" - Fiona Barton

"Superb characterisation and a devilish twist that took me completely by surprise." - Mark Edwards

"It doesn't feel like a first novel at all, it's written with the confidence of someone several books into their writing career. I absolutely loved Alice and her sarcasm. It's a great original idea, and the style reminded me in parts of authors like Clare Mackintosh, TM Logan and Mark Edwards." - John Marrs

"An exciting debut. Such a different take on things to read from a male point of view. Fresh and enthralling." - Mel Sherratt

"Immersive, compulsive and gripping." - C L Taylor

"Gripping with a great twist!" - Harriet Tyce


Similar books by other authors

thumb
First Shot
(Grant Fletcher, book 1)
John Ryder

Used availability for Robin Morgan-Bentley's The Wreckage

Hardback Editions

February 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Wreckage: The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
ISBN: 1-4091-9417-5 / 978-1-4091-9417-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

September 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wreckage: The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
ISBN: 1-4091-9419-1 / 978-1-4091-9419-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Wreckage: The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
ISBN: 1-4091-9418-3 / 978-1-4091-9418-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2020 : USA Audio CD

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
ISBN: 1-71355-859-9 / 978-1-71355-859-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon   


February 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage: The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2020 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Wreckage: The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about
Author(s): Robin Morgan-Bentley
Publisher: Trapeze
Availability: Amazon CA