Mark Edwards's picture
257 followers

Mark Edwards


UK flag (b.1970)

Mark Edwards writes psychological thrillers in which scary things happen to ordinary people and is inspired by writers such as Stephen King, Ira Levin, Ruth Rendell and Linwood Barclay.

Genres: Mystery
 

Mark Edwards recommends
thumb
The Exit (2015)
Helen Fitzgerald
"An astonishingly powerful novel that deals beautifully with some serious issues - family, memory, growing up and growing old - before delivering a sucker punch that will leave you reeling. Helen FitzGerald is not afraid to take the reader into some very dark places and cements her growing reputation as one of the most daring and readable authors working today. The Exit is a masterpiece."
thumb
Wonderland (2015)
Jennifer Hillier
"A fast-paced, razor-sharp thriller that is impossible to put down. Jennifer Hillier is a stunningly talented author and Wonderland is her best yet."
thumb
Her Last Tomorrow (2015)
Adam Croft
"Croft takes a scalpel to modern marriage in this dark, unpredictable tale. Fans of Peter James will love it."
thumb
The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows (2016)
(George McKenzie Crime Thriller, book 3)
Marnie Riches
"Fast, furious, fantastic...One killer thrillers!."
thumb
The Trophy Child (2017)
Paula Daly
"Sheer perfection. THE TROPHY CHILD is gripping, darkly funny and bound to induce spasms of guilt in even the least pushy parent. I can’t remember the last time I was so enthralled. I want to stand on a mountain top and tell everyone to read this brilliant novel."
thumb
Everything But the Truth (2017)
Gillian McAllister
"A fast-paced page turner with an emotional punch that sets it apart from so many other psychological thrillers."
thumb
Trust Me (2017)
Gemma Metcalfe
"Gemma Metcalfe turns the screw until the tension is almost unbearable. A fast-paced debut with a twist that made me gasp."
thumb
The Marsh King's Daughter (2017)
Karen Dionne
"Original and exciting, with a thrilling ending. If you liked Room, you'll love it."
thumb
The Girl Who Came Back (2017)
Kerry Wilkinson
"An atmospheric page-turner that will appeal to anyone looking for a quality psychological thriller. The perfect summer read."
thumb
This is How it Ends (2018)
Eva Dolan
"Angry, compassionate and mind-blowingly clever, with a truly shocking ending."
thumb
Her Name Was Rose (2018)
Claire Allan
"A superior psychological thriller with an intriguing set-up, a flawed heroine and some great twists. Recommended!"
thumb
In the Vines (2018)
Shannon Kirk
"A dark and twisted thriller, both poetic and page-turning. A treat for the discerning suspense lover."
thumb
To the Lions (2019)
(Casey Benedict, book 1)
Holly Watt
"A globe-trotting tale of investigative journalism that crackles with the energy of peak James Ellroy."
thumb
I Know Everything (2019)
(Adler and Dwyer)
Matthew Farrell
"Dark and constantly surprising, this is a must-read for fans of twisted, intelligent thrillers."
thumb
What You Did (2019)
Claire McGowan
"Absorbing, timely, and beautifully written, What You Did is a superior psychological thriller from a major talent."
thumb
The Second Wife (2020)
Rebecca Fleet
"A mesmerising, beautifully-written domestic thriller that really stands out from the crowd. I flew through it."
thumb
The Wreckage (2020)
Robin Morgan-Bentley
"Superb characterisation and a devilish twist that took me completely by surprise."
thumb
Strangers (2020)
C L Taylor
"Stayed up to finish Strangers, unable to put it down. It’s her best one yet. A joy to read, full of living, breathing characters, a compelling plot, humour and a killer twist. Very very highly recommended."
thumb
We Begin at the End (2020)
Chris Whitaker
"Chris Whitaker takes crime writing to new levels in this evocative and lyrical novel, which is not only beautifully written but cleverly plotted, with a climax you'll never guess."
thumb
He Started It (2020)
Samantha Downing
"He Started It is a dark, twisting road trip into hell with a family you wouldn't want to live next door to. I've never read anything like it!"
thumb
The Split (2020)
Sharon Bolton
"Dark, fascinating and full of surprises."
thumb
What Lies Between Us (2020)
John Marrs
"A modern-day Whatever Happened to Baby Jane that is dark, twisted, and full of surprises."
thumb
The Search Party (2020)
Simon Lelic
"Clever and atmospheric, with shades of Stand By Me."
thumb
The Last Resort (2020)
Susi Holliday
"Superb. A chilling island-set thriller for fans of Dark Mirror and Agatha Christie."
thumb
The Rule (2021)
David Jackson
"Brilliant. Spiralling tension, wit and heart, this is British crime writing at its best."
thumb
The Dark (2021)
Emma Haughton
"Chilling and atmospheric, THE DARK had me turning the pages late into the night."
thumb
The Interview (2022)
C M Ewan
"Almost unbearably tense and exciting."
thumb
The Last Woman in the World (2022)
Inga Simpson
"As terrifying as Bird Box or A Quiet Place but full of the most beautiful writing about nature. An absolute must-read."
thumb
You Never Said Goodbye (2022)
Luca Veste
"A barnstorming, rocket-paced thriller about an ordinary man thrown into an extraordinary situation. Fans of John Connolly and Linwood Barclay will love it."
thumb
It Ends At Midnight (2022)
Harriet Tyce
"A cinematic gut-punch of a book that will linger in your memory long after you've finished it."
thumb
Dead Rich (2022)
G W Shaw
"[A] sun-drenched, blood-soaked thriller set on a superyacht in the Caribbean. It's that most wonderful thing: a Thumping Good Read."
thumb
The Island of Lost Girls (2022)
Alex Marwood
"A ripped-from-the-headlines thriller that is both compassionate and chilling . . . I couldn't put it down."
thumb
Truly, Darkly, Deeply (2022)
Victoria Selman
"A truly darkly creepy serial killer story with a chilling sting in its tale. Reminded me of The Fall. Beautifully written and highly recommended."
thumb
The Last Party (2022)
(DC Morgan, book 1)
Clare Mackintosh
"Her best yet. A picturesque setting, wonderful cast and a pair of detectives you'll love. Plus I guarantee you'll never guess whodunnit."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors