book cover of Beyond the Wild River
Added by 8 of our members

Beyond the Wild River

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family’s estate the night of a double murder.

Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre has rarely strayed from her family’s estate in the Scottish Borderlands, save for the occasional trip to Edinburgh, where her father, a respected magistrate, conducts his business—and affairs of another kind. Evelyn has always done her duty as a daughter, hiding her boredom and resentment behind good manners—so when an innocent friendship with a servant is misinterpreted by her father as an illicit union, Evelyn is appalled.

Yet the consequence is a welcome one: she is to accompany her father on a trip to North America, where they’ll visit New York City, the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago, and conclude with a fishing expedition on the Nipigon River in Canada. Now is her chance to escape her cloistered life, see the world, and reconnect with her father.

Once they’re on the Nipigon, however, Evelyn is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, the former stable hand and her one-time friend who disappeared from the estate after the shootings of a poacher and a gamekeeper. Many had assumed that James had been responsible, but Evelyn never could believe it. Now, in the wilds of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the truth about that day, James, and her father will be revealed…to stunning consequences.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Used availability for Sarah Maine's Beyond the Wild River

Hardback Editions

November 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River (Center Point Large Print)
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-68324-574-1 / 978-1-68324-574-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sterling Mystery Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-4736-3969-7 / 978-1-4736-3969-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-4736-3968-9 / 978-1-4736-3968-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5011-2695-4 / 978-1-5011-2695-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond The Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-78771-646-5 / 978-1-78771-646-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2019 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond The Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-78771-679-1 / 978-1-78771-679-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5200-6809-3 / 978-1-5200-6809-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5200-6813-1 / 978-1-5200-6813-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


April 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA