book cover of Beyond the Wild River
Added by 5 of our members

Beyond the Wild River

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
From the author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.

'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES
'Riveting' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

*****

'Stunning' Booklist

'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sarah Maine's Beyond the Wild River

Hardback Editions

November 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River (Center Point Large Print)
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-68324-574-1 / 978-1-68324-574-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-4736-3969-7 / 978-1-4736-3969-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-4736-3968-9 / 978-1-4736-3968-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5011-2695-4 / 978-1-5011-2695-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Beyond The Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-78771-646-5 / 978-1-78771-646-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Beyond The Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-78771-679-1 / 978-1-78771-679-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5200-6809-3 / 978-1-5200-6809-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
ISBN: 1-5200-6813-1 / 978-1-5200-6813-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


April 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A gorgeous and evocative historical novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Beyond the Wild River: A Novel
Author(s): Sarah Maine
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA