book cover of Lily\'s War
Added by 15 of our members

Lily's War

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
An uplifting and inspiring World War II saga for readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves.

1942, Manchester

World War Two is in full swing and Lily Mullins is determined to do her bit for the war effort. Her friends and sweetheart have all joined up and Lily's sure there must be a role for her that goes further than knitting socks for the troops!

When she decides to volunteer for the Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Lily soon discovers that she has a talent as a wireless operator. Helped along the way by a special gang of girls, she finds strengths she didn't know she had and realises that the safety of the country might just be in her hands . . .

Meanwhile, Danny is determined to marry Lily, but his letters home become more and more distant. Will a long separation mean the end of their love story?

An uplifting and inspiring novel of women on the home front.

Don't miss the next book by Shirley Mann, Bobby's War. Available in ebook in October 2020 and paperback March 2021.

- - - - -

'[The story] read so true to me and I really didn't want to put it down . . . It may be fiction but those things could, and did, happen.' Vera Morgan, wartime WAAF

'An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage: a heartwarming read that will captivate all those who love a good war story.' Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl

'A wonderful, inspiring story. I can't wait to read more from Shirley Mann.' Sheila Newberry

Genre: Sagas

Praise for this book

"An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage: a heartwarming read that will captivate all those who love a good war story." - Clare Harvey

"A wonderful, inspiring story. I can't wait to read more from Shirley Mann." - Sheila Newberry


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Shirley Mann's Lily's War

Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Lily's War: An uplifting WWII saga of women on the homefront
Author(s): Shirley Mann
ISBN: 1-78576-937-5 / 978-1-78576-937-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2020 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Lily's War: An uplifting WWII saga of women on the homefront
Author(s): Shirley Mann
ISBN: 1-83877-190-5 / 978-1-83877-190-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War (Memory Lane)
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Lily's War: An uplifting WWII saga of women on the homefront
Author(s): Shirley Mann
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU