book cover of The Hatmakers
Added by 6 of our members

The Hatmakers

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
Enter a spellbinding world brimming with magic and wonder, perfect for fans of Nevermoor, A Pinch of Magic and Harry Potter.

'Wildly inventive . . . full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. I loved it' Catherine Doyle

Cordelia comes from a long line of magical milliners, who weave alchemy and enchantment into every hat.

In Cordelia's world, Making - crafting items such as hats, cloaks, watches, boots and gloves from magical ingredients - is a rare and ancient skill, and only a few special Maker families remain.

Life as a magical milliner isn't without its difficulties, though...

When Cordelia's father Prospero and his ship, the Jolly Bonnet, are lost at sea during a mission to collect hat ingredients, Cordelia is determined to find him.

But her Uncle Tiberius and Aunt Ariadne have no time to help the littlest Hatmaker, for an ancient rivalry between the Maker families is threatening to surface.

Worse, someone seems to be using Maker magic to start a war. It's up to Cordelia to find out who, and why . . .

Beautifully illustrated throughout by Paola Escobar.


'Imaginative debut . . . entertaining, comical and breezy, and the settings are conjured in transporting detail' The Times, Children's Book of the Week.

'An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart' Anna James

'Absolutely wonderful' Emma Carroll

'A cosy magical adventure peppered with charming detail' The Bookseller

Genre: Children's Fiction

Praise for this book

"A wildly inventive tale, full of laugh-out-loud humour, enchanting magic and rebellious hope. Charming from first page to last. I loved it." - Catherine Doyle

"An utterly charming adventure full of wildness, wit, magic and heart." - Anna James


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tamzin Merchant's The Hatmakers

Hardback Editions

February 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant
ISBN: 0-241-42630-8 / 978-0-241-42630-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant
ISBN: 1-324-01603-5 / 978-1-324-01603-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Norton Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant
ISBN: 0-241-49197-5 / 978-0-241-49197-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant, Paola Escobar
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon   


February 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant, Paola Escobar
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant, Paola Escobar
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hatmakers
Author(s): Tamzin Merchant
Publisher: Norton Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA