book cover of The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
Added by 3 of our members

The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane

(2019)
(The first book in the Order of Black Hollow Lane series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Blackthorn Key series comes a bestselling boarding school mystery about twelve year old Emmy, who's shipped off to a prestigious British school Wellsworth. But her new home is hiding a secret society ... and it may be the answer to Emmy's questions about her missing father.

With a dad who disappeared years ago and a mother who's a bit too busy to parent, Emmy is shipped off to Wellsworth, a prestigious boarding school in England, where she's sure she won't fit in.

But then she finds a box of mysterious medallions in the attic of her home with a note reading: These belonged to your father.

When she arrives at school, she finds the strange symbols from the medallions etched into walls and books, which leads Emmy and her new friends, Jack and Lola, to Wellsworth's secret society: The Order of Black Hollow Lane.

Emmy can't help but think that the society had something to do with her dad's disappearance, and that there may be more than just dark secrets in the halls of Wellsworth...

The Black Hollow Lane series is perfect for middle schoolers and 10 year olds who love twisty mysteries with:
  • Boarding schools

    Secret societies

    Secret relics

    Cryptic letters

    A fantastic group of friends


  • Genre: Children's Fiction

    Praise for this book

    "A page-turning mystery ripe with plot twists, crackling humor, and a plucky heroine. Kids will love Emmy and beg for more." - Michael Buckley

    "A fast-paced mystery with lots of humor, adventure, and surprising twists! This book has it all: mysterious artifacts, hidden doors, snotty roommates, family secrets, and a wonderful old boarding school with secrets of its own. I absolutely loved it!" - Jessica Day George


    Similar books by other authors

    thumb
    Skulduggery Pleasant
    (Skulduggery Pleasant, book 1)
    Derek Landy

    Used availability for Julia Nobel's The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane

    Hardback Editions

    February 2019 : USA Hardback
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    ISBN: 1-4926-6464-2 / 978-1-4926-6464-2 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Paperback Editions

    January 2020 : USA Paperback
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    ISBN: 1-4926-9154-2 / 978-1-4926-9154-9 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Audio Editions

    March 2019 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    ISBN: 1-974945-57-X / 978-1-974945-57-3
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    March 2019 : Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    ISBN: 1-974945-61-8 / 978-1-974945-61-0
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    March 2019 : USA Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon   


    March 2019 : Australia Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon AU   


    March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon CA   


    March 2019 : UK Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon UK   


    Kindle Editions

    March 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
    thumb

    Title: The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane
    Author(s): Julia Nobel
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU