book cover of Where Ravens Roost
Added by 22 of our members
 

Where Ravens Roost

(2021)
(The first book in the Detective Kjeld Nygaard series)
A novel by

 
 
‘Wow! This is a gripping debut novel about family, secrets and lies… held me spellbound from beginning to end’ NetGalley reviewer

In a small town full of secrets, anyone could be a killer.

Detective Kjeld Nygaard wants nothing more than to forget his family and Varsund, the small mining town he once called home, even exist. But while on suspension after his last case went disastrously wrong, his estranged father Stenar leaves a message on Kjeld’s phone claiming he’s seen a murder.

But with no evidence and Stenar suffering from Alzheimer’s, the local police think he must have imagined it. Kjeld can’t stop himself from investigating what actually happened, and soon discovers a body. But when the police start to suspect Stenar, it’s a race against time to discover the truth before it’s lost forever.

But will uncovering the truth expose family secrets that are best left buried?

Atmospheric and addictive, Where Ravens Roost is a gripping crime thriller perfect for fans of J M Dalgliesh, Angela Marsons and Jo Nesbo.

Readers are OBSESSED with Where Ravens Roost!

‘I LOVED THIS BOOK!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘A great gripping debut set in a small town where there are secrets, family disputes and gossip galore!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘Be ready to stay up at night until you're done!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘A real page turner. Kept me engrossed from start to finish. Loved it’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘As soon as I started I had a Jo Nesbo feeling and was hooked’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘A fantastic start to what should be a promising series!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘A stunning debut novel from Karin Nordin that keeps you on the edge of your seat’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Brooding and atmospheric – full of mystery and twists where nothing is quite as it seems’ Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

‘Such a dark, atmospheric and compelling story!’ Jackie Kabler, author of The Perfect Couple



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Brooding and atmospheric – full of mystery and twists where nothing is quite as it seems." - Catherine Cooper

"The bleak but beautiful settings are incredibly vivid (you'll want to wear a coat while you read this) and there are twists and turns around every corner." - Steve Frech

"If this is how the series starts, I can’t wait to read whatever comes next." - Paul Gitsham

"A delicious slice of Scandi noir – such a dark, atmospheric and compelling story! And ahh, if only those ravens could talk…" - Jackie Kabler

"The menacing, wintry heart of Where Ravens Roost gripped me from the very first page! Complex, layered characterisation, skilful writing and a twisty plot combine to create a Scandi Noir thriller as dark as a raven's wing. Hard to believe this is a debut!" - Louise Mumford

"Nordin has produced an immersive tale of past secrets and flawed family relationships, all wrapped up with a… compelling narrative that had me glued to my Kindle for most of the day." - Jenny O'Brien

"Such a great thriller with superb characterization to boot. Hard to believe that it's a debut. Looking forward to catching up with Detective Kjeld Nygaard and co." - Khurrum Rahman


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Karin Nordin's Where Ravens Roost

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: the most gripping and addictive crime thriller of 2021 for fans of Angela Marsons and J M Dalgliesh: Book 1 (Detective Kjeld Nygaard)
Author(s): Karin Nordin
ISBN: 0-00-845552-X / 978-0-00-845552-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: Detective Kjeld Nygaard, Book 1
Author(s): Karin Nordin
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: Detective Kjeld Nygaard, Book 1
Author(s): Karin Nordin
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: Detective Kjeld Nygaard, Book 1
Author(s): Karin Nordin
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: Detective Kjeld Nygaard, Book 1
Author(s): Karin Nordin
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Where Ravens Roost: the most gripping and addictive crime thriller of 2021 for fans of Angela Marsons and J M Dalgliesh (Detective Kjeld Nygaard, Book 1)
Author(s): Karin Nordin
Publisher: HQ Digital
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU