book cover of Pity The Dead
Added by 2 of our members

Pity The Dead

(2019)
(The fifth book in the Solomon Gray series)
A novel by

 
 
"Don't waste your time, he's just another dead junkie."

That's what Detective Inspector Solomon Gray is told when the body of a junkie is found. But Gray recognises the junkie's name - an old school friend of his daughter. The trouble is, drug users are the underclass, who cares about them? Investigations are brief and the deaths ruled accidental, the people are soon forgotten and life moves on.

Soon, Gray learns there's a new gang in town, quietly supplanting the previous channel. Albanians, well known for their brutality, run by the vicious Leka Krisniqi, work by fear and intimidation, making it near impossible for Gray to break in. Word from the street is Krisniqi's gang are killing anyone remotely suspected of working with the police, spiking drugs with enough contaminant, just the weight of a snowflake, to ensure the user is dead the moment the narcotics enter their body.

And Gray gets a call from an old foe, Sylvia - she was PA to Gray's deceased and disgraced boss and ex-friend. Sylvia's husband has gone missing. Early one morning he upped and left with just the clothes on his back and hasn't been seen since. However, Gray isn't keen to help, one missing man who's walked out on someone he doesn't much like hardly seems important when compared to a spate of murders.

Eventually, Gray finds someone who just may be able to help, a street dealer called E. But she's afraid for her own life and that of her family. But first Gray must do something for her...

Can Gray bring down the Albanians before more people die?

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

Pity The Dead is the fifth book in the series featuring Detective Inspector Solomon Gray. Buy now to discover if Gray can stop the murders of innocents.

What Others Say



"... deeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride."
Ed James, author of bestselling DI Fenchurch series

"Nixon combines his trademark gritty humour with a flawless police procedural."
M.W. Craven, author of the Washington Poe series

"Be prepared for everything to resolve in dramatic fashion."
Crime Fiction Lover

What Readers Say



"I follow a lot of Detective series but this is by far one of the best."
"You've no idea how glad I am to be back in Gray's world!"
"The author has such an amazing talent for telling tales."
"Hard to put down and gripping to the very end."
"There has to be another installment soon!"
"Wow, this series just gets better."
"Another strong installment in a thoroughly enjoyable series."
"A fantastic read with brilliant characters."
"A very entertaining and well-executed thriller. "

"A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read."
Mason Cross, author of the Carter Blake thriller series

"A dark, uncompromising tale of loss, murder, and revenge. Glorious noir, which takes the police procedural elements and gives them new life. I can't wait to read the next step in Solomon Gray's journey for answers ..."
Luca Veste, author of the Murphy and Rossi crime series

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Smart Womens Guide to Murder
(Smart Woman's Mystery, book 1)
Victoria Dowd

Used availability for Keith Nixon's Pity The Dead

Paperback Editions

May 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Pity The Dead: A Gripping Crime Thriller (Solomon Gray)
Author(s): Keith Nixon
ISBN: 1-09-510510-8 / 978-1-09-510510-8
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

May 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pity The Dead: A Gripping Crime Thriller - 250,000+ Selling Series! (Solomon Gray Book 5)
Author(s): Keith Nixon, Allan Guthrie
Publisher: Gladius Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU