book cover of The Meadow Girls
Added by 9 of our members

The Meadow Girls

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, The Meadow Girls is a warm-hearted and nostalgic family saga from the bestselling author of THE WINTER BABY and THE NURSEMAID'S SECRET.

Suffolk, 1914

Twelve-year-old Mattie and her little sister Evie lead an idyllic life in the countryside, exploring the meadows and picking watercress in the streams. But little do they know that this perfect childhood won't last. With the onset of World War I, the country is thrown into turmoil . . .

As the years pass, the girls go on to live very different lives. Mattie travels to Canada and America, whilst Evie remains in England. More than fifty years later, through marriages, deaths, births, war, heartbreak and distance, will these sisters finally be reunited to have their time in the meadows again?

Previously published as The Watercress Girls

Praise for Sheila Newberry


'I found myself completely wrapped up with their experiences and shed a tear at the twists and turns of their lives.' Mollie Walton, author of The Daughters of Ironbridge on A Winter Hope

'So gloriously nostalgic . . . a perfect example of her talent.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool

'Like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.' Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sheila Newberry's The Meadow Girls

Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Meadow Girls: A heart-warming World War I saga
Author(s): Sheila Newberry
ISBN: 1-78576-190-0 / 978-1-78576-190-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Meadow Girls
Author(s): Sheila Newberry
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Meadow Girls
Author(s): Sheila Newberry
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Meadow Girls
Author(s): Sheila Newberry
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Meadow Girls: A heart-warming World War I saga
Author(s): Sheila Newberry
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK