book cover of The Good Byline
Added by 4 of our members

The Good Byline

(2017)
(The first book in the Riley Ellison Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Meet Riley Ellison, a smart, quirky, young library assistant who's become known in her hometown of Tuttle Corner, Virginia, as Riley Bless-Her-Heart. Ever since her beloved granddaddy died and her longtime boyfriend broke up with her, Riley has been withdrawing from life. In an effort to rejoin the living, she signs up for an online dating service and tries to reconnect with her childhood best friend, Jordan James, a reporter at the Tuttle Times. But when she learns that Jordan committed suicide, Riley is shaken to the core.

Riley agrees to write Jordan's obituary as a way to learn more about why a young woman with so much to live for would suddenly opt out. Jordan's co-worker, a paranoid reporter with a penchant for conspiracy theories, convinces Riley that Jordan's death was no suicide. He leads her down a dangerous path toward organized crime, secret lovers, and suspicious taco trucks.

Riley's serpentine hunt for the truth eventually intersects with her emerging love life, and she makes a discovery that puts everything Riley holds dear--her job, the people she loves, and even her life--in danger. Will writing this obituary be the death of her?

Genre: Cozy Mystery


Praise for this book

"Who knew obituaries could be this much fun?" - Gretchen Archer

"Riley 'Bless Her Heart' Ellison is a breath of fresh air?a funny, empathic, Millennial heroine. She kept me turning the pages well into the night." - Susan M Boyer

"In this irresistible page-turner, Jill Orr delivers a funny, smartly written mystery featuring a charming heroine and appealing setting. I can't wait to join millennial Riley Ellison on future adventures - and misadventures!" - Ellen Byron

"An extremely fun read! Regina H., Personal Romance Concierge, may be my favorite new literary character of the decade." - Anne Flett-Giordano

"Jill Orr will make you laugh, make you think, and steam up your reading glasses with this funny, smart, and romantic mystery debut. The Good Byline is an engaging story that will keep readers wondering whodunit and how'd-they-do-it until the very end." - Diane Kelly

"Jill Orr's delightful, laugh-out-loud debut is the perfect mix of mystery, humor, and romance, anchored by an endearing heroine you can't help but root for. A fun, fast-paced read with a satisfying mystery at its heart. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich." - Laura McHugh


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Double Whammy
(Davis Way Crime Caper, book 1)
Gretchen Archer
thumb
The Corpse in the Cabana
(Viola Roberts Cozy Mystery, book 1)
Shéa MacLeod
thumb
House Party Murder Rap
(Evie Parker Mystery, book 1)
Sonia Parin

Used availability for Jill Orr's The Good Byline

Paperback Editions

April 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Good Byline: A Riley Ellison Mystery (Riley Ellison Mysteries)
Author(s): Jill Orr
ISBN: 1-938849-91-4 / 978-1-938849-91-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2017 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Good Byline, The (Riley Ellison)
Author(s): Jill Orr
ISBN: 1-5436-1470-1 / 978-1-5436-1470-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Good Byline: A Riley Ellison Mystery
Author(s): Jill Orr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


March 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Good Byline: A Riley Ellison Mystery
Author(s): Jill Orr
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Good Byline (The Riley Ellison Mysteries Book 1)
Author(s): Jill Orr
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Availability: Amazon CA