Laura McHugh's picture
16 followers

Laura McHugh


USA flag

Laura McHugh is the author of The Weight of Blood, which won both the 2015 International Thriller Writers award and a Silver Falchion award for best first novel, and was nominated for a Barry award and an Alex award. She spent part of her childhood in the town of Keokuk, Iowa, where Arrowood is set, and now lives in Columbia, Missouri, with her husband and two young children.

Genres: Mystery
 
Awards
Barry Awards Best First Novel nominee (2015) : The Weight of Blood


Laura McHugh recommends
thumb
Black-Eyed Susans (2015)
Julia Heaberlin
"This twisted tale is disturbing in the best way, rife with suspense and rich in eerie detail. I would recommend Black-Eyed Susans to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers—it’s a deeply creepy page-turner that you won’t want to put down."
thumb
The Good Byline (2017)
(Riley Ellison Mystery, book 1)
Jill Orr
"Jill Orr's delightful, laugh-out-loud debut is the perfect mix of mystery, humor, and romance, anchored by an endearing heroine you can't help but root for. A fun, fast-paced read with a satisfying mystery at its heart. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich."
thumb
The Weight of Lies (2017)
Emily Carpenter
"The Weight of Lies is a creepy, atmospheric thriller that plunges its heroine into the mystery behind a cult classic horror novel. An intriguing tale of secrets and lies that will keep you guessing as you race to the end."
thumb
Watch Me Disappear (2017)
Janelle Brown
"I devoured Watch Me Disappear in one sitting. In this poignant and captivating story of a missing woman and the family she left behind, Brown deftly peels away the layers of a loving marriage to reveal a haunting mystery and a devastating truth: that no matter how much you love someone, you can never truly know them."
thumb
The Blackbird Season (2017)
Kate Moretti
"The Blackbird Season is more than a haunting mystery; it’s an intense exploration of a family in crisis and a community rocked by scandal. How well can you truly know the ones you love? How far can you trust them? I couldn’t stop reading until I knew the whole and harrowing truth."
thumb
Bearskin (2018)
James A McLaughlin
"At once brutal and beautiful, Bearskin is a tense, haunting thriller brought to life by McLaughlin’s deft and vivid rendering of the rugged mountain landscape and the beasts that dwell within. A powerful debut."
thumb
What Happened That Night (2018)
Sandra Block
"Block expertly navigates the emotional landscape of trauma survivors in this deeply satisfying thriller. What begins as a quest for revenge becomes so much more as Dahlia fights to uncover the truth and reclaim her life after a brutal attack. Block handles the weighty subject matter with a deftness I've come to expect from her work-she never disappoints."
thumb
River Bodies (2018)
(Northampton County, book 1)
Karen Katchur
"River Bodies weaves an engrossing mystery with richly developed characters for an enjoyable, fast-paced read."
thumb
The Familiar Dark (2020)
Amy Engel
"The Familiar Dark is a blistering rural noir brimming with dark secrets and the harsh realities of survival in a hardscrabble town. As Eve Taggert seeks vengeance for her daughter’s murder and descends into the depths of her own jagged past, we are reminded that a mother’s love is a fearsome thing. A powerful, gripping, heart-stopping read."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors