book cover of The Star of the Sea

The Star of the Sea

(2002)
A novel by

 
 
The Barnes & Noble Review from Discover Great New Writers
Fans of Matthew Kneale's English Passengers and Sheri Holman's The Dress Lodger will find themselves enthralled with this tale of a sea journey from the Emerald Isle across the Atlantic. Brimming with exquisitely rendered characters and historical detail, this captivating tale of mystery and murder combines the elements of the literary novel, historical epic, and thriller to create a muscular work of fiction with a surprising sense of page-turning urgency. Making a wintry voyage from Ireland to New York in 1847, the Star of the Sea is a ship filled with passengers whose range from humble folk fleeing the ravages of the Irish Potato Famine to bankrupt aristocrats trying to outrun the secrets of their past. Beneath these class differences lies a web of connections marked by betrayal and hatred that spans generations and is about to turn murderous.

Narrated by a fictitious journalist for The New York Times, O'Connor's novel is adroitly studded with interviews and reportage of the 26-day journey. A literary star in Ireland, O'Connor splashes onto our shores with formidable proof of his literary gifts, an epic feast of a novel revealing impeccable language skills and an ear for dialogue, combined with a wonderful attention to detail and subtle nuances.


Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Star Called Henry
(Last Roundup, book 1)
Roddy Doyle

Used availability for Joseph O'Connor's The Star of the Sea

Hardback Editions

August 2004 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-7540-7960-0 / 978-0-7540-7960-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Imprint unknown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2003 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-15-100908-2 / 978-0-15-100908-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2003 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Star Of The Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-436-25556-1 / 978-0-436-25556-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Martin Secker & Warburg Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2011 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea: Vintage 21 (Vintage 21st Anniv Editions)
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-09-956309-6 / 978-0-09-956309-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea (Reading Guide Edition)
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-09-949705-0 / 978-0-09-949705-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2003 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-09-946962-6 / 978-0-09-946962-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2004 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-15-602966-9 / 978-0-15-602966-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2003 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Star Of The Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-09-945526-9 / 978-0-09-945526-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2002 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Star Of The Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-436-21013-4 / 978-0-436-21013-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Martin Secker & Warburg Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2015 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 1-4712-9329-7 / 978-1-4712-9329-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2011 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


June 2011 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


June 2011 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2006 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon   


January 2006 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2006 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2005 : USA Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: Star Of The Sea (Rumpole Crime)
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-7927-3439-4 / 978-0-7927-3439-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Chivers Sound Library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2005 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Star Of The Sea (Rumpole Crime)
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 0-7927-3440-8 / 978-0-7927-3440-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Chivers Sound Library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2004 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The Star Of The Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 1-85686-963-6 / 978-1-85686-963-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2004 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Star Of The Sea
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
ISBN: 1-85686-962-8 / 978-1-85686-962-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2011 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Star Of The Sea (Vintage 21st Anniv Editions)
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2004 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Star of the Sea: A Novel
Author(s): Joseph O'Connor
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon