book cover of Third Time Fatal

Third Time Fatal

(1992)
A novel by

 
 
It was supposed to be a happy day.

But when Philipa Lowe arrives at the wedding of her childhood friend Heather she finds the wedding postponed, the bride in tears, the groom missing.

Philipa begins a desperate search to find the reluctant groom.

Arriving at his home, she draws back the covers of his bed to find a body. That of a naked, female corpse.

Meanwhile, the groom returns and the couple are wed in Philipa's absence.

At the airport, Martin is arrested.

But the charge is not murder...

Where was Martin on the night before his wedding, and who was the woman found in his bed?

In order to protect her close friend's marriage, Philipa must get close to the suspect to uncover his past, and prove his innocence.

But how close?

And could this be third time fatal?

'Third Time Fatal' is a gripping crime thriller that is perfect for fans of Nikki French and Peter Robinson.

Praise for Roger Ormerod:



"The story gallops along with an irresistible momentum...always fascinating...the shape is near perfect. The characterisation is splendid, the situations dramatic and compelling, the style economic and energetic. What more can a book offer, or a reader ask?" - Reginald Hill

"Eclectic, underrated Ormerod can be relied upon to come up with the startling goods" Sunday Times

"I am glad to announce that the detective novel is still alive and well in Mr Ormerod's skillful hands " The Spectator

"Fast-moving, with well-orchestrated jiggery-pokery; not unlike an early Dick Francis in tone and method" Times Literary Supplement

Roger Ormerod
(1920-2005) was a prolific writer of ingenious and densely plotted crime novels - some 35 in all - which were published in the UK and the USA. He lived in Wolverhampton and amongst other things worked as a civil servant and as a Social Security inspector - backgrounds which he made full use of in his fiction, as he did with his hobbies of painting and photography.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Crime in the Community
(Pitkirtly Mysteries, book 1)
Cecilia Peartree
thumb
Loose Ends
(California Corwin P. I. Mystery, book 1)
D D VanDyke
thumb
The Final Trick
(Roberts and Bradley, book 1)
Solomon Carter
thumb
An Ace and A Pair
(Dead Cold Mystery, book 1)
Blake Banner

Used availability for Roger Ormerod's Third Time Fatal

Hardback Editions

January 2003 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Third Time Fatal
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
ISBN: 0-7089-4712-3 / 978-0-7089-4712-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 1992 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Third Time Fatal
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
ISBN: 0-09-471530-0 / 978-0-09-471530-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Constable Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Third Time Fatal
Author(s): Roger Ormerod
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA