book cover of Dear Mrs. Bird
Added by 7 of our members

Dear Mrs. Bird

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is "a jaunty, heartbreaking winner" (People) - for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman's Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

"Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce's debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women's lives in wartime Britain" (Library Journal) - a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. "Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight" (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is "funny and poignant... about the strength of women and the importance of friendship" (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Funny, fresh, and touching, Dear Mrs. Bird is a pitch-perfect pleasure. It’s a rare and wonderful thing to read a book that seems to live properly in its era." - Annie Barrows

"A joy from start to finish. Dear Mrs. Bird is as funny as it is heartwarming." - John Boyne

"Books that make you shake with laughter and sob with tears are rare. I gulped this one down but didn’t stop thinking about it for a long time." - Katie Fforde

"Emmeline Lake, the heroine of Dear Mrs. Bird, is the most endearing character to emerge from the world of British fiction since Bridget Jones. She’s funny, she’s indefatigable, and she faces the worst of circumstances with the pluckiest of resolves. You cannot help but love her." - Kimmery Martin

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." - Nina Stibbe


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Ruin
(Cormac Reilly, book 1)
Dervla McTiernan

Used availability for AJ Pearce's Dear Mrs. Bird

Hardback Editions

January 2019 : UK Hardback

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): A J Pearce
ISBN: 1-4448-3961-6 / 978-1-4448-3961-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Charnwood
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird (Thorndike Press Large Print Core)
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-4328-5329-5 / 978-1-4328-5329-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5011-7006-6 / 978-1-5011-7006-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Hardback

Title: Dear Mrs Bird Signed Copies (Signed Editions)
Author(s): a J Pearce
ISBN: 1-4726-2463-7 / 978-1-4726-2463-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Macmillan
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5098-5389-8 / 978-1-5098-5389-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5290-2787-X / 978-1-5290-2787-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5011-7007-4 / 978-1-5011-7007-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5098-5392-8 / 978-1-5098-5392-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-982101-10-5 / 978-1-982101-10-7
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5098-5390-1 / 978-1-5098-5390-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird: Library Edition
Author(s): A J Pearce
ISBN: 1-5082-5520-2 / 978-1-5082-5520-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
ISBN: 1-5082-6445-7 / 978-1-5082-6445-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Dear Mrs Bird: The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller
Author(s): AJ Pearce
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon UK