book cover of The Only Child
Added by 3 of our members

The Only Child

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
What makes us monsters?

A psychotic patient with two impossible claims.

A leading forensic psychiatrist on the edge.

It's not just Dr Dominick's career that's in danger....

As a forensic psychiatrist at New York's leading institution of its kind, Dr Lily Dominick has evaluated the mental states of some of the country's most dangerous psychotics. But the strangely compelling client she interviewed today - a man with no name, accused of the most twisted crime - struck her as somehow different from the others, despite the two impossible claims he made.

First, that he is more than 200 years old and personally inspired Mary Shelley, Robert Louis Stevenson and Bram Stoker in creating the three novels of the 19th century that define the monstrous in the modern imagination. Second, that he's Lily's father. To discover the truth - behind her client, her mother's death, herself - Dr Dominick must embark on a journey that will threaten her career, her sanity and ultimately her life.

Taut, terrifying and impossible to put down, The Only Child is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King. Read by Laurence Bouvard.

Genre: Horror

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Promise
(DS Imogen Grey, book 4)
Katerina Diamond
thumb
The Devil's Dice
(DI Meg Dalton thriller, book 1)
Roz Watkins

Used availability for Andrew Pyper's The Only Child

Hardback Editions

August 2017 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-68324-473-7 / 978-1-68324-473-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4767-5521-3 / 978-1-4767-5521-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

May 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4767-5523-X / 978-1-4767-5523-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4091-4921-8 / 978-1-4091-4921-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4767-5532-9 / 978-1-4767-5532-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


1961 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4091-4920-X / 978-1-4091-4920-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Only Child: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-4767-5529-9 / 978-1-4767-5529-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2017 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-78706-370-4 / 978-1-78706-370-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2017 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-78706-406-9 / 978-1-78706-406-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
ISBN: 1-68168-653-8 / 978-1-68168-653-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Only Child: The terrifying thriller that will blow your mind
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Only Child
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Only Child: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew Pyper
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon CA