6 books added

Audrey Peterson

USA flag (1921 - 2008)

Audrey Peterson is the pen name of Audrey C. Buckland.

Audrey Peterson fell in love with England when, as professor of English at California State University at Long Beach, she traveled there to pursue research for scholarly publication, so it is no surprise that all of her mystery novels are set in England. Willetta L. Heisings Detecting Women provides some more background on this respected novelist:

Her six-book series featuring music professor, Andrew Quentin, and his former graduate student, Jane Winfield, begins with The Nocturne Murder [1987]. The pair spends a lot of time in England and on the continent, places which Peterson often visits. She told Contemporary Authors that the music background allows her to incorporate a lifelong interest in opera and concert-going. Like her second series character, Claire Camden, Peterson has done academic research in England, but has yet to solve a murder. She has written a study of 19th century writers, Victorian Masters of Mystery: From Wilkie Collins to Conan Doyle (1984). A Los Angeles native, she earned a Ph.D. at the University of Southern California and taught English literature at California State University, Long Beach for 20 years.

Jane Winfield
   1. The Nocturne Murder (1987)
   2. Death in Wessex (1989)
   3. Murder in Burgundy (1989)
   4. Deadly Rehearsal (1990)
   5. Elegy in a Country Graveyard (1990)
   6. Lament for Christabel (1991)
Claire Camden
   1. Dartmoor Burial (1992)
   2. Death Too Soon (1994)
   3. Shroud for a Scholar (1995)
   An Unmourned Death (2002)
   Murder in Stratford (2005)
Non fiction show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors